This Week's Bestsellers - Adult Non-Fiction

The top selling adult non-fiction titles at Belmont Books this week:

 

The Angel and the Assassin: The Tiny Brain Cell That Changed the Course of Medicine Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781524799175
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - January 21st, 2020

A thrilling story of scientific detective work and medical potential that illuminates the newly understood role of microglia—an elusive type of brain cell that is vitally relevant to our everyday lives.
 


Fear Is Fuel: The Surprising Power to Help You Find Purpose, Passion, and Performance Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9781538134412
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers - February 3rd, 2020

Fear, the most powerful force in our life, is the least understood. Every one of us experiences it. Many arrange their lives to avoid it. Yet nearly every one of us needs to find more fear. Most of us know fear as the unwanted force that drives phobias, anxieties, unhappiness, and inhibits self-actualization.


The Optimist's Telescope: Thinking Ahead in a Reckless Age Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735219472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - August 27th, 2019

Named a Best Book of 2019 by NPR

“How might we mitigate losses caused by shortsightedness? Bina Venkataraman, a former climate adviser to the Obama administration, brings a storyteller’s eye to this question. . . .  She is also deeply informed about the relevant science.” —The New York Times Book Review


Strange Planet Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062970701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Morrow Gift - November 19th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • #1 WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER • USA TODAY BESTSELLER


A Very Stable Genius: Donald J. Trump's Testing of America Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781984877499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - January 21st, 2020

The instant #1 bestseller.

“This taut and terrifying book is among the most closely observed accounts of Donald J. Trump’s shambolic tenure in office to date."
- Dwight Garner, The New York Times


Staff Pick Badge
In the Dream House: A Memoir Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781644450031
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - November 5th, 2019

A revolutionary memoir about domestic abuse by the award-winning author of Her Body and Other Parties


Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.


Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316478526
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 10th, 2019

A Best Book of the Year: The Financial Times, Bloomberg, Chicago Tribune, and Detroit Free Pres


Staff Pick Badge
Fierce Attachments: A Memoir (FSG Classics) Cover Image
By Vivian Gornick, Jonathan Lethem (Introduction by)
$12.80
ISBN: 9780374529963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 14th, 2005

Vivian Gornick’s Fierce Attachments—hailed by the New York Times for the renowned feminist author’s “mesmerizing, thrilling” truths within its pages—has been selected by the publication’s book critics as the #1 Best Memoir of the Past 50 Years.


The Body: A Guide for Occupants Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780385539302
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - October 15th, 2019

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST 
LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN E.O. WILSON LITERARY SCIENCE WRITING AWARD

"Glorious. . .You will marvel at the brilliance and vast weirdness of your design." The Washington Post 


How To: Absurd Scientific Advice for Common Real-World Problems Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525537090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 3rd, 2019

AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 


Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525655084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - January 14th, 2020

New York Times Best Seller 

"A deft and uniquely credible exploration of rural America, and of other left-behind pockets of our country. One of the most important books I've read on the state of our disunion."—Tara Westover, author of Educated    


White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780807047415
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beacon Press - June 26th, 2018

The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.


Conversations with RBG: Ruth Bader Ginsburg on Life, Love, Liberty, and Law Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250235169
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - November 5th, 2019

In her own words, Ruth Bader Ginsburg offers an intimate look at her life and career, through an extraordinary series of conversations with the head of the National Constitution Center.


Maybe You Should Talk to Someone: A Therapist, HER Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781328662057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - April 2nd, 2019

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Now being developed as a television series with Eva Longoria and ABC!

“Rarely have I read a book that challenged me to see myself in an entirely new light, and was at the same time laugh-out-loud funny and utterly absorbing.”—Katie Couric
 
“This is a daring, delight