Staff Picks

Our latest staff picks. Chances that one of these will be perfect for you? 99.99% or better!

 

Kaikeyi: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780759557338
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - April 26th, 2022

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

"MYTHIC RETELLING AT ITS BEST." —R. F. Kuang, author of The Poppy War

A stunning debut from a powerful new voice, Kaikeyi is the story of the infamous queen from the Indian epic the Ramayana.


The Address Book: What Street Addresses Reveal About Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250134790
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - January 26th, 2021

Finalist for the 2020 Kirkus Prize for Nonfiction | One of Time Magazines's 100 Must-Read Books of 2020 | Finalist for the Goodreads Choice Awards, Best History & Biography 2020 | Longlisted for the 2020 Porchlight Business Book Awards


The Stand-In Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781728242620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Casablanca - May 3rd, 2022

HOW TO UPEND YOUR LIFE:


Murder on the Red River (A Cash Blackbear Mystery #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781641293761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - April 5th, 2022

One Book, One Minnesota Selection for Summer 2021
 
Introducing Cash Blackbear, a young Ojibwe woman whose visions and grit help solve a brutal murder in this award-winning debut.


The Last Mapmaker Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536204957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - April 12th, 2022

From Christina Soontornvat, the visionary and versatile author of two 2021 Newbery Honor Books, comes a high-seas adventure set in a Thai-inspired fantasy world.


Sorcerer to the Crown (A Sorcerer to the Crown Novel #1) Cover Image
By Zen Cho
$17.00
ISBN: 9780425283400
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - July 12th, 2016

One of NPR's 50 Favorite Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books of the Past Decade

Magic and mayhem clash with the British elite in this whimsical and sparkling debut.


Part of Your World Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538704370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forever - April 19th, 2022

A refreshingly modern fairy tale and instant New York Times bestseller that Love Hypothesis author Ali Hazelwood hails as "an uplifting, feel-good, romantic read." 

After a wild bet, gourmet grilled-cheese sandwich, and cuddle with a baby goat, Alexis Montgomery has had her world turned upside down.


Mel Fell Cover Image
By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062878014
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 2nd, 2021

A Caldecott Honor Book and ALA Notable Book of the Year! An innovative and charming tale about a plucky little bird, from the award-winning author-illustrator of Fox the Tiger.


The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063070875
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - April 19th, 2022

New York Times bestseller!


Sanctuary: Kip Tiernan and Rosie's Place, the Nation's First Shelter for Women Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536211290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 1st, 2022

Before Kip Tiernan came along, the US had no shelters for women. Here is the inspirational story of a singular woman and what her vision and compassion have brought to life.

“Justice is not three hots and a cot. Justice is having your own key.” —Kip Tiernan


Mooncakes Cover Image
By Suzanne Walker, Wendy Xu (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781549303043
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - October 15th, 2019

"If Mooncakes were a spell, it would be a housewarming charm that settles with care into the softest parts of a home and makes the houseplants grow. I wish I could live inside this book.”  — New York Times bestselling author Casey McQuiston

A story of love and demons, family and witchcraft.


All the Flowers Kneeling (Penguin Poets) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143136842
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 15th, 2022

“Paul Tran’s debut collection of poems is indelible, this remarkable voice transforming itself as you read, eventually transforming you.” —Alexander Chee, author of How to Write an Autobiographical Novel


A Day for Rememberin': Inspired by the True Events of the First Memorial Day Cover Image
By Leah Henderson, Floyd Cooper (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419736308
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

A moving tribute to the little-known history behind the first Memorial Day, illustrated by Coretta Scott King Award winner Floyd Cooper

Today is a special day.


The Sweetness of Water (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316461245
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - May 3rd, 2022

An Instant New York Times bestseller / An Oprah’s Book Club Pick
 
In the spirit of The Known World and The Underground Railroad, an award-winning “miraculous debut” (Washington Post) about the unlikely bond between two freedmen who are brothers and the Georgia farmer whose alliance will alter their lives, and his, forever


Another Kind Cover Image
By Trevor Bream, Cait May (Illustrator), Cait May
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063043534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - October 26th, 2021

Six kids search for a new place to call home in this middle grade graphic novel debut by comic creators Cait May and Trevor Bream, for fans of Marvel’s Runaways and The Witch Boy by Molly Knox Ostertag. Another Kind is not your average monster story.


Sorry I'm Late, I Didn't Want to Come: One Introvert's Year of Saying Yes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781449499235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - May 28th, 2019

An introvert spends a year trying to live like an extrovert with hilarious results and advice for readers along the way.

What would happen if a shy introvert lived like a gregarious extrovert for one year? If she knowingly and willingly put herself in perilous social situations that she’d normally avoid at all costs? Writer Jessica Pan intends to find out.


The Last Suspicious Holdout: Stories Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062979094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amistad - March 8th, 2022

The critically acclaimed author of The Rib King returns with an eagerly anticipated collection of interlocking short stories including the title story written exclusively for this volume, that explore relationships between friends, family and strangers in a Black neighborhood over fifteen years


I Love You Like Yellow Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, Vashti Harrison (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419748073
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - March 29th, 2022

From New York Times bestselling author Andrea Beaty and New York Times bestselling illustrator Vashti Harrison, a sweet and playful bedtime book that reminds young readers just how loved they are

I love you like yellow.
I love you like green.
Like flowery orchid
and sweet tangerine . .


All the Lovers in the Night Cover Image
By Mieko Kawakami, Sam Bett (Translator), David Boyd (Translator)
$28.00
ISBN: 9781609456993
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - May 3rd, 2022

A MAY 2022 INDIE NEXT PICK


A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2022


Aviva vs the Dybbuk Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646141258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - February 22nd, 2022

A long ago "accident." An isolated girl named Aviva. A community that wants to help, but doesn't know how. And a ghostly dybbuk, that no one but Aviva can see, causing mayhem and mischief that everyone blames on her.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385341004
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - May 5th, 2009

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A NETFLIX FILM • A remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name.

“Treat yourself to this book, please—I can’t recommend it highly enough.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love


Spell Sweeper Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062845320
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - November 30th, 2021

Featuring a failed young wizard and her cleanup crew, this delightfully dysfunctional middle grade fantasy is an imaginative twist on magic school that’s perfect for fans of Nevermoor and The School for Good and Evil.