Staff Picks

Our latest staff picks. Chances that one of these will be perfect for you? 99.99% or better!

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Quaker Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609455408
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: World Noir - September 17th, 2019

WINNER 2018 MCILVANNEY PRIZE FOR SCOTTISH CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR

A WASHINGTON POST BEST BOOK OF 2019

Based on true events, a "Dickensian crime novel" (Mystery Matters) set in 1960s Glasgow


Staff Pick Badge
The Cipher Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781542022477
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Thomas & Mercer - November 1st, 2020

An Amazon Charts bestseller.

To a cunning serial killer, she was the one that got away. Until now...


Staff Pick Badge
Obit Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556595745
Availability: Temporarily Out of Stock
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 7th, 2020

The New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2020

Time Magazine's 100 Must-Read Books of 2020

NPR's Best Books of 2020

National Book Award in Poetry, Longlist

Frank Sanchez Book Award


Staff Pick Badge
Dating Makes Perfect Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781682814970
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Entangled: Teen - August 18th, 2020

The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because they’re not asked. Not because they’re not interested. Not even because no one can pronounce their long, Thai last name—hence the shortened, awkward moniker. But simply because they’re not allowed.

Until now.


Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor.


Staff Pick Badge
Goodnight Beautiful: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062881922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - October 13th, 2020

A Most Anticipated Book by: Crime Reads, Buzzfeed, Popsugar, Bustle, New York Post


Staff Pick Badge
Tiny Pretty Things TV Tie-in Edition Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780063056558
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - October 13th, 2020

Now a hit Netflix TV show! Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be the prima at their elite ballet school.


Staff Pick Badge
Octavia's Brood: Science Fiction Stories from Social Justice Movements Cover Image
By Walidah Imarisha (Editor), Adrienne Maree Brown (Editor), Sheree Renee Thomas (Foreword by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781849352093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: AK Press - April 7th, 2015

Whenever we envision a world without war, prisons, or capitalism, we are producing speculative fiction. Organizers and activists envision, and try to create, such worlds all the time. Walidah Imarisha and adrienne maree brown have brought 20 of them together in the first anthology of short stories to explore the connections between radical speculative fiction and movements for social change.


Staff Pick Badge
Bloom County Babylon: Five Years of Basic Naughtiness Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316103091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 30th, 1986

Staff Pick Badge
I Don't Expect Anyone to Believe Me Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781911508489
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: And Other Stories - May 5th, 2020

"I don't expect anyone to believe me," warns the narrator of this novel, a Mexican student called Juan Pablo Villalobos. He is about to fly to Barcelona on a scholarship when he's kidnapped in a bookshop and whisked away by thugs to a basement.


Staff Pick Badge
The Factory Witches of Lowell Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250756565
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - November 10th, 2020

C. S. Malerich's The Factory Witches of Lowell is a riveting historical fantasy about witches going on strike in the historical mill-town of Lowell, Massachusetts.


Staff Pick Badge
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780593126028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - June 2nd, 2020

Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylish blockbuster.” —Entertainment Weekly


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!
An Indie Next Pick!
One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"
One of Book Riot’s “20 Must-Read Feel-Good Fantasies”


Staff Pick Badge
I Talk Like a River Cover Image
By Jordan Scott, Sydney Smith (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823445592
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 1st, 2020

What if words got stuck in the back of your mouth whenever you tried to speak? What if they never came out the way you wanted them to? Sometimes it takes a change of perspective to get the words flowing.

A New York Times Best Children's Book of the Year


I wake up each morning with the sounds of words all around me.


Staff Pick Badge
Notes from a Young Black Chef: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525433910
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 31st, 2020

By the time he was twenty-seven years old, Kwame Onwuachi had opened—and closed—one of the most talked about restaurants in America. He had sold drugs in New York and been shipped off to rural Nigeria to “learn respect.” He had launched his own catering company with twenty thousand dollars made from selling candy on the subway and starred on Top Chef.


Staff Pick Badge
Girl Gone Viral: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062878137
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - April 21st, 2020

In Alisha Rai’s second novel in her Modern Love series, a reclusive investor goes viral, shoving her into the world's spotlight—and into the arms of the bodyguard she’s been pining for…

OMG! Wouldn’t it be adorable if he’s her soulmate???

I don’t see any wedding rings <eyes emoji>


Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368048088
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

An epic, utterly unforgettable contemporary novel about a lost shipwreck, a missing piece of family history, and weathering the storms of life. Fans of Far from the Tree, We Are Okay, and Emergency Contact will love this stunning debut.


Staff Pick Badge
The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to Read Cover Image
By Rita Lorraine Hubbard, Oge Mora (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524768287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade - January 7th, 2020

Imagine learning to read at the age of 116! Discover the true story of Mary Walker, the nation's oldest student who did just that, in this picture book from a Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator and a rising star author.


Staff Pick Badge
Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780307947901
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - January 24th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR

Who are the immensely wealthy right-wing ideologues shaping the fate of America today? From the bestselling author of The Dark Side, an electrifying work of investigative journalism that uncovers the agenda of this powerful group.


Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.