Staff Picks

Our latest staff picks. Chances that one of these will be perfect for you? 99.99% or better!

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Interior Chinatown: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307948472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - November 17th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER

"One of the funniest books of the year. . . . A delicious, ambitious Hollywood satire." —The Washington Post


Staff Pick Badge
Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake (Winner Bakes All #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538703328
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forever - May 18th, 2021

Fans of Casey McQuiston, Christina Lauren, and Abby Jimenez will love this scrumptious and sweet romantic comedy from the "dizzyingly talented writer" of Boyfriend Material (Entertainment Weekly)

Publishers Weekly Summer Reads Top 10 Staff Picks
Oprah Daily Most Anticipated Romance Novels of 2021
Buzzfeed Must-Read Spring


Staff Pick Badge
Tokyo Ever After: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 18th, 2021

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller and Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine YA Book Club Pick! Emiko Jean’s Tokyo Ever After is the “refreshing, spot-on” (Booklist, starred review) story of an ordinary Japanese-American girl who discovers that her father is the Crown Prince of Japan.


Staff Pick Badge
House of Sticks: A Memoir Cover Image
By Ly Tran
$27.00
ISBN: 9781501118814
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - June 1st, 2021

An intimate, beautifully written coming-of-age memoir recounting a young girls journey from war-torn Vietnam to Ridgewood, Queens, and her struggle to find her voice amid clashing cultural expectations.

Ly Tran is just a toddler in 1993 when she and her family immigrate from a small town along the Mekong river in Vietnam to a two-bedroom railroad apartment in Queens.


Staff Pick Badge
Goodbye, Again: Essays, Reflections, and Illustrations Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062880857
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - April 20th, 2021

Instant New York Times Bestseller 

“Truly, there's no shame in taking a break from books during the pandemic. But if you're feeling ready to reach out, try starting with Goodbye, Again. Take my word for it — let Jonny Sun into your life.”---Janet W. Lee, NPR


Staff Pick Badge
Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America


Staff Pick Badge
The Capybaras Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781771647823
Availability: Temporarily Out of Stock
Published: Greystone Kids - April 13th, 2021

A New York Public Library Best Book for Kids 2020 (Spanish edition)

A charming and hilarious tale for kids ages 4-8 about how accepting others can enrich us all--featuring capybaras, the beloved animal sensation capturing hearts around the world.


Staff Pick Badge
Dreamland Burning Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316384902
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 20th, 2018

A compelling dual-narrated tale from Jennifer Latham that questions how far we've come with race relations.

Some bodies won't stay buried.

Some stories need to be told.


Staff Pick Badge
It Had to Be You: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982133191
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - May 4th, 2021

“A wedding planner dies and leaves the business to his wife—and his mistress. What could possibly go wrong? A charming rom-com to kick off your summer.”—People

An Elin Hilderbrand Entertainment Weekly Summer Reading Pick

“The book-equivalent of a perfect first date...


Staff Pick Badge
Watercress Cover Image
By Andrea Wang, Jason Chin (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823446247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - March 30th, 2021

Gathering watercress by the side of the road brings a girl closer to her family's Chinese Heritage.


Staff Pick Badge
Leaving Coy's Hill: A Novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781643137162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pegasus Books - May 4th, 2021

An unforgettable story about the triumphs and travails of a woman unwilling to play by the rules, based on the the remarkable life of pioneering feminist and abolitionist Lucy Stone. 

Born on a farm in 1818, Lucy Stone dreamt of extraordinary things for a girl of her time, like continuing her education beyond the eighth grade and working for the abolitionist cause, and of o


Staff Pick Badge
Summer Spirit Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781910620724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nobrow - May 4th, 2021

A new YA graphic novel from French illustrator Elizabeth Holleville, Summer Spirit puts a fresh spin on the struggles of growing up as this coming-of-age story takes a supernatural and sinister turn.

Being a teenager is hard enough without finding out your new best friend is a 60 year old ghost...


Staff Pick Badge
Healer of the Water Monster Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062990402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heartdrum - May 11th, 2021

Brian Young’s powerful debut novel tells of a seemingly ordinary Navajo boy who must save the life of a Water Monster—and comes to realize he’s a hero at heart.


Staff Pick Badge
The Cave Dwellers Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982132781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - May 25th, 2021

A compulsively readable novel in the vein of The Bonfire of the Vanities—by way of The Nest—about what Washington, DC’s high society members do away from the Capitol building and behind the closed doors of their stately homes.

They are the families considered worthy of a listing in the exclusive Green Book—a discriminative diary created by


Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen and the Beautiful Cover Image
By Nghi Vo
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250784780
Availability: Temporarily Out of Stock
Published: Tordotcom - June 1st, 2021

An Instant National Bestseller!
An Indie Next Pick!

A Most Anticipated in 2021 Pick for Oprah Magazine | USA Today | Buzzfeed | Greatist | BookPage | PopSugar | Bustle | The Nerd Daily | Goodreads | Literary Hub | Ms. Magazine | Library Journal | Culturess | Book Riot | Parade Magazine | Kirkus | The Week | Book Bub | OverDrive | The Portalist | Publishers Weekly


Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.