Staff Picks

Our latest staff picks. Chances that one of these will be perfect for you? 99.99% or better!

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Displacement Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250193537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - August 18th, 2020

A teenager is pulled back in time to witness her grandmother's experiences in World War II-era Japanese internment camps in Displacement, a historical graphic novel from Kiku Hughes.


Staff Pick Badge
The Bone Shard Daughter (The Drowning Empire #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316541428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - September 8th, 2020

"One of the best debut fantasy novels of the year."--BuzzFeed News

"An amazing start to a new trilogy."--Culturess

"It grabs you by the heart and the throat from the first pages and doesn't let go."-- Sarah J. Maas


Staff Pick Badge
We Are Not Free Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358131434
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST

From New York Times best-selling and acclaimed author Traci Chee comes We Are Not Free, the collective account of a tight-knit group of young Nisei, second-generation Japanese American citizens, whose lives are irrevocably changed by the mass U.S.


Staff Pick Badge
Legendborn Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534441606
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 15th, 2020

Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic.

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home.


Staff Pick Badge
When No One Is Watching: A Thriller Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062982650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 1st, 2020

An instant NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"I was knocked over by the momentum of an intense psychological thriller that doesn’t let go until the final page. This is a terrific read." – Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author

*Marie Claire's September Book Club Pick* 


Staff Pick Badge
The Exiles: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062356345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Custom House - August 25th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

OPTIONED FOR TELEVISION BY BRUNA PAPANDREA, THE PRODUCER OF HBO'S BIG LITTLE LIES


Staff Pick Badge
The Shadow King: A Novel Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780393358513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 1st, 2020

Shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and named a best book of the year by the New York Times, NPR, Elle, Time, and more, The Shadow King is an “unforgettable epic from an immensely talented author who’s unafraid to take risks” (Michael Schaub, NPR).


Staff Pick Badge
No Presents Please: Mumbai Stories Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781948226905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Catapult - July 28th, 2020

For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Rohinton Mistry, as well as Lorrie Moore and George Saunders, here are stories on the pathos and comedy of small-town migrants struggling to build a life in the big city, with the dream world of Bollywood never far away.


Staff Pick Badge
Uncle Bobby's Wedding (2020) Cover Image
By Sarah S. Brannen, Lucia Soto (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781499810080
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: little bee books - May 12th, 2020

"A joyous, heartwarming, sweet-and essential-update." Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

"Those we love, [Soto] and Brannen show, needn't change just because they love someone else, too-there's plenty of room in the human heart." Publishers Weekly

"A large-hearted affirmation of society's newest kind of wedding."


Staff Pick Badge
Your Name Is a Song Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781943147724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Innovation Press - July 7th, 2020

Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to school. In response, the girl's mother teaches her about the musicality of African, Asian, Black-American, Latinx, and Middle Eastern names on their lyrical walk home through the city.


Staff Pick Badge
The Boy in the Field: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062946393
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - August 11th, 2020

A People Book of the Week | An O Magazine Best Book of the Fall| A USA Today Book Not to Miss| A New York Times Book Review Editor's Pick


Staff Pick Badge
Twins (Twins #1) Cover Image
By Varian Johnson, Shannon Wright (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338236132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 6th, 2020

Coretta Scott King Honor author Varian Johnson teams up with rising cartoonist Shannon Wright for a delightful middle-grade graphic novel!


Staff Pick Badge
Blazewrath Games Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781645670797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Kids - October 6th, 2020

Dragons and their riders compete in an international sports tournament in this alternate contemporary world fantasy


Staff Pick Badge
Leave the World Behind: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062667632
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - October 6th, 2020

A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!

Finalist for the 2020 National Book Award (Fiction)


Staff Pick Badge
Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson's stirring novel-in-verse explores how a family moves forward when their glory days have passed and the cost of professional sports on Black bodies.


Staff Pick Badge
Three Keys (A Front Desk Novel) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338591385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

The story of Mia and her family and friends at the Calivista Motel continues in this powerful, hilarious, and resonant sequel to the award-winning novel Front Desk.

Mia Tang thinks she's going to have the best year ever.


Staff Pick Badge
Gustavo, the Shy Ghost Cover Image
By Flavia Z. Drago, Flavia Z. Drago (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536211146
Availability: Temporarily Out of Stock - Check back soon
Published: Candlewick - July 14th, 2020

This winning debut picture book from Mexican artist Flavia Z. Drago about finding the courage to make friends is perfect for the spooky season — or anytime.


Staff Pick Badge
The Voting Booth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368053297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 7th, 2020

From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.

Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She's always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?


Staff Pick Badge
The Master and Margarita: 50th-Anniversary Edition (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Mikhail Bulgakov, Richard Pevear (Translated by), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translated by), Boris Fishman (Foreword by), Christopher Conn Askew (Illustrator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143108276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - May 3rd, 2016

A 50th-anniversary Deluxe Edition of the incomparable 20th-century masterpiece of satire and fantasy, in a newly revised version of the acclaimed Pevear and Volokhonsky translation
 


Staff Pick Badge
Resistencia: Poems of Protest and Revolution Cover Image
By Julia Alvarez (Introduction by), Mark Eisner (Editor), Tina Escaja (Editor)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781951142070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - September 15th, 2020

“To read these poems is to be reminded again and again of our true allegiance to each other.” —from the introduction by Julia Alvarez


Staff Pick Badge
Evelyn Del Rey Is Moving Away Cover Image
By Meg Medina, Sonia Sanchez (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536207040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 8th, 2020

From Newbery Medalist Meg Medina comes the bittersweet story of two girls who will always be each other’s número uno, even though one is moving away.

A big truck with its mouth wide open is parked at the curb, ready to gobble up Evelyn’s mirror with the stickers around the edge . . . and the sofa that we bounce on to get to the moon.


Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.