Staff Picks

“I love books. I adore everything about them. I love the feel of the pages on my fingertips. They are light enough to carry, yet so heavy with worlds and ideas. I love the sound of the pages flicking against my fingers. Print against fingerprints. Books make people quiet, yet they are so loud.”

– Nnedi Okorafor

 

Tali Girls: A Novel of Afghanistan By Siamak Herawi, Sara Khalili (Translated by) Cover Image
By Siamak Herawi, Sara Khalili (Translated by)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781953861665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago - December 12th, 2023

An intimate look at the lives, loves, horrors, and dreams of girls and women in an Afghan mountain village under Taliban rule

A heartbreaking tragedy in the vein of The Kite Runner from a major English-speaking Afghan figure famous for his books and long career in politics


Dava Shastri's Last Day By Kirthana Ramisetti Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781538703847
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - September 27th, 2022

In this novel "full of music, magnetism, and familial obligation" (Emma Straub, author of All Adults Here) a dying billionaire matriarch leaks news of her death early so she can examine her legacy—a decision that horrifies her children and inadvertently exposes secrets she has spent a lifetime keeping.

Dava Shastri, one of the world's wealthiest women, h


Everything I Learned, I Learned in a Chinese Restaurant: A Memoir By Curtis Chin Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316507653
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - October 17th, 2023

An American Library Association Stonewall Honor Book

Most Anticipated This Fall in TIME, San Francisco Chronicle, The Washington Post, Goodreads, Lamba Literary Review, Kirkus Reviews, and PinkNews

This “vivid, moving, funny, and heartfelt&rdqu


Lunar New Year Love Story By Gene Luen Yang, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Gene Luen Yang, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250908261
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - January 9th, 2024

Graphic novel superstars Gene Luen Yang and LeUyen Pham join forces in this heartwarming rom-com about fate, family, and falling in love.

She was destined for heartbreak. Then fate handed her love.


Songs on Endless Repeat: Essays and Outtakes By Anthony Veasna So, Jonathan Dee (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Anthony Veasna So, Jonathan Dee (Foreword by)
$28.99
ISBN: 9780063049963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - December 5th, 2023

A Most Anticipated Book of 2023 from: LA Times * Boston Globe * The Millions * LitHub * Shondaland


Lonely Castle in the Mirror By Mizuki Tsujimura, Philip Gabriel (Translated by) Cover Image
By Mizuki Tsujimura, Philip Gabriel (Translated by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781645660743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Erewhon Books - September 26th, 2023

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER! 

A Studio Ghibli-esque work of Japanese translation “that lays bare the anxieties and desperation—and the small triumphs—of adolescence” (Locus), for fans of Mieko Kawakami’s Heaven.


This Is Paradise: Stories By Kristiana Kahakauwila Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780770436254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - July 9th, 2013

Elegant, brutal, and profoundthis magnificent debut captures the grit and glory of modern Hawai'i with breathtaking force and accuracy.
 


Nonfiction: A Novel By Julie Myerson Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781959030317
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - January 2nd, 2024

"Raw-nerved and plangent."—The New Yorker

"Entrancing."—ELLE, A Best Book of 2024 

“Glitteringly painful.”—Rachel Cusk


One Sweet Song By Jyoti Rajan Gopal, Sonia Sánchez (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jyoti Rajan Gopal, Sonia Sánchez (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536219814
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - January 16th, 2024

In an ode to the power of music and community, this vibrantly illustrated picture book steps out on the balcony for a shared moment of spontaneous joy and celebration.


Poor Deer: A Novel By Claire Oshetsky Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063327665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - January 9th, 2024

A wondrous, tender novel about a young girl grappling with her role in a tragic loss—and attempting to reshape the narrative of her life—from PEN/Faulkner Award nominee Claire Oshetsky


Sensitive By Sara Levine, Mehrdokht Amini (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sara Levine, Mehrdokht Amini (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781728450926
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lerner Publishing Group - October 3rd, 2023

"You feel way too much." / "Will you stop being dramatic?"


The Language of Threads: A Novel By Gail Tsukiyama Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9780312267568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 21st, 2000

Readers of Women of the Silk never forgot the moving, powerful story of Pei, brought to work in the silk house as a girl, grown into a quiet but determined young woman whose life is subject to cruel twists of fate, including the loss of her closest friend, Lin.


Anna O: A Today Show and GMA Buzz Pick By Matthew Blake Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063314153
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - January 2nd, 2024

#1 International Bestseller

GMA Buzz Pick • A Today Show Pick • A People Magazine Pick


Lost Time By Tas Mukanik Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780593327050
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - October 3rd, 2023

Jurassic World meets How to Train Your Dragon in this gorgeously drawn, adventure-packed middle grade graphic novel about a girl who gets trapped 65 million years in the past and must learn to survive with only her wits…and the pterosaur she befriends.


One Night in Hartswood By Emma Denny Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780008620073
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mills & Boon - November 7th, 2023

'A soul-satisfying love story that is both sublimely romantic and splendidly sexy.' Booklist (starred review)


Aces Wild: A Heist By Amanda DeWitt Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781682636237
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Peachtree Teen - September 5th, 2023

What happens in Vegas when an all-asexual online friend group attempts to break into a high-stakes gambling club? Shenanigans ensue.

Some people join chess club, some people play football. Jack Shannon runs a secret blackjack ring in his private school’s basement. What else is the son of a Las Vegas casino mogul supposed to do? 


The Deep By Rivers Solomon, Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, Jonathan Snipes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534439870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Saga Press - August 4th, 2020

Octavia E. Butler meets Marvel’s Black Panther in The Deep, a story rich with Afrofuturism, folklore, and the power of memory, inspired by the Hugo Award–nominated song “The Deep” from Daveed Diggs’s rap group Clipping.


The Tainted Cup By Robert Jackson Bennett Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781984820709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - February 6th, 2024

A Holmes and Watson–style detective duo take the stage in this fantasy with a mystery twist, from the Edgar-winning, multiple Hugo-nominated Robert Jackson Bennett

“Superbly blends mystery and fantasy . . . Give me more of this world and these characters ASAP!”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Gardiner


Emily Wilde's Map of the Otherlands By Heather Fawcett Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593500194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - January 16th, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • When mysterious faeries from other realms appear at her university, curmudgeonly professor Emily Wilde must uncover their secrets before it’s too late, in this heartwarming, enchanting second installment of the Emily Wilde series.


River East, River West: A Novel By Aube Rey Lescure Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063257856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - January 9th, 2024

Set against the backdrop of developing modern China, this mesmerizing literary debut is part coming-of-age tale, part family and social drama, as it follows two generations searching for belonging and opportunity in a rapidly changing world—perfect for readers of Behold the DreamersWhite Ivy, and The Leavers.


Ra Pu Zel and the Stinky Tofu By Ying Chang Compestine, Crystal Kung (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593533055
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rocky Pond Books - January 2nd, 2024

A playful, feminist retelling of Rapunzel with a Chinese-cuisine twist

The story of Rapunzel where she’s being locked in a tower by a witch is a good one—but it’s not totally the truth.


Do You Know Them?: Families Lost and Found After the Civil War By Shana Keller, Laura Freeman (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Shana Keller, Laura Freeman (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781665913072
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2024

A moving and triumphant picture book inspired by the printed newspaper ads placed by African Americans who were separated from family members by the Civil War, enslavement, and emancipation.

After the war’s end, everyone is missing someone. Lettie’s missing her family. They had been sold and lost long before enslavement was abolished.


Betty and the Mysterious Visitor By Anne Twist, Emily Sutton (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Anne Twist, Emily Sutton (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536234862
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 5th, 2023

An exciting debut author, beloved on social media, spins a delightful homegrown mystery for young readers


Drinking Coffee Elsewhere By ZZ Packer Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781573223782
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 3rd, 2004

The acclaimed debut short story collection that introduced the world to an arresting and unforgettable new voice in fiction, from multi-award winning author ZZ Packer


How to Survive Your Murder By Danielle Valentine Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780593619582
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - August 1st, 2023

Scream meets Happy Death Day in this terrifying stand-alone horror novel from YA scream queen Danielle Valentine.

Alice Lawrence is the sole witness in her sister’s murder trial.
 


Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating By Adiba Jaigirdar Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781645677543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street YA - May 23rd, 2023

Everyone likes Humaira "Hani" Khan—she’s easy going and one of the most popular girls at school. But when she comes out to her friends as bisexual, they invalidate her identity, saying she can’t be bi if she’s only dated guys. Panicked, Hani blurts out that she’s in a relationship…with a girl her friends absolutely hate—Ishita "Ishu" Dey. Ishu is the complete opposite of Hani.


On the Plus Side: A Novel By Jenny L. Howe Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250837882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - December 26th, 2023

What Not to Wear and Queer Eye meet All the Feels in this sparkling romantic comedy by Jenny L. Howe, in which the new guest on a popular plus-size makeover show has her style—and her love life—transformed.