Staff Picks

“I love books. I adore everything about them. I love the feel of the pages on my fingertips. They are light enough to carry, yet so heavy with worlds and ideas. I love the sound of the pages flicking against my fingers. Print against fingerprints. Books make people quiet, yet they are so loud.”

– Nnedi Okorafor

 

A Love Like the Sun By Riss M. Neilson Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780593640494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 11th, 2024

Most Anticipated by The Root ∙ Boston Globe ∙ Rolling Out ∙ and more!

"Extraordinary... a raw, vulnerable, breath-stealing love you can feel as you read."
—Emily Henry

"Dazzling, tender, and romantic." —Carley Fortune


The Night Ends with Fire By K. X. Song Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593815724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - July 2nd, 2024

The special first edition hardcover will include a gorgeous, shimmering jacket with effects, brilliantly illustrated four-color endpapers, striking and detailed-stained edges, and a beautiful foil-stamped case.

The instant New York Times bestseller!


Four Eids and a Funeral By Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé, Adiba Jaigirdar Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250890139
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 4th, 2024

Ex-best friends, Tiwa and Said, must work together to save their Islamic Center from demolition, in this romantic story of rekindling and rebuilding by award-winning authors Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé & Adiba Jaigirdar!

The town of New Crosshaven has it all—even its own infamous love story.


The Takedown By Lily Chu Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728242682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Casablanca - May 7th, 2024

Love and Vanity meets Succession in a clever, funny, and romantic uplit about wealth, power, family, and love from rising star Lily Chu.


My Daddy Is a Cowboy: A Picture Book By Stephanie Seales, C. G. Esperanza (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Stephanie Seales, C. G. Esperanza (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419760815
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - June 11th, 2024

A young girl and her father share an early morning horseback ride around their city in My Daddy Is a Cowboy, a picture book celebration of “just-us time,” perfect for fans of My Papi Has a Motocycle.
 
In the early hours before dawn, a young girl and her father greet their horses and ride together through the waking city streets.


We Live Here: Detroit Eviction Defense and the Battle for Housing Justice By Jeffrey Wilson, Bambi Kramer Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781644212424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Seven Stories Press - April 30th, 2024

A graphic novel featuring uplifting stories of combatting—and beating—calls for their eviction in Detroit, showing how everyday people are fighting to stay in their homes, organizing with their communities, and winning.


Craft: Stories I Wrote for the Devil By Ananda Lima Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250292971
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 18th, 2024

Strange, intimate, haunted, and hungry—Craft: Stories I Wrote for the Devil is an intoxicating and surreal fiction debut by award-winning author Ananda Lima.


Bunny & Tree By Balint Zsako (Created by) Cover Image
By Balint Zsako (Created by)
$29.95
ISBN: 9781592703937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Enchanted Lion - July 18th, 2023

A gorgeous wordless adventure story about a rabbit and a tree, their surprising friendship, and the distance they go to find a place to call home.

 

A Wall Street Journal Best Children’s Book of 2023! ★ A New York Times/New York Public Library Best Illustrated Children's Book of 2023 ★ A New York Public Library Best Children


Business or Pleasure By Rachel Lynn Solomon Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593548530
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - July 4th, 2023

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES' BEST ROMANCES OF THE YEAR!

"Intimate and unflinching."—New York Times

A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

An Indie Next Pick
A LibraryReads Hall of Fame Pick
One of Amazon's Best Romances of July

Named a Most Anticipated Summer Read by Buzzfeed, Glamour, Town & Country, BookRiot, and more!


Walking Trees By Marie-Louise Gay Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781773069760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Groundwood Books - March 5th, 2024

Lily wants a tree for her birthday. Although she and her father live in a tiny dark apartment, she promises to give it water and sun and air. But after she receives her tree--whom she names George--even Lily can't imagine how their daily walks will change the neighborhood


The Lion Women of Tehran By Marjan Kamali Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668036587
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - July 2nd, 2024

From the nationally bestselling author of the “powerful, heartbreaking” (Shelf Awareness) The Stationery Shop, a heartfelt, epic new novel of friendship, betrayal, and redemption set against three transformative decades in Tehran, Iran.

In 1950s Tehran, seven-year-old Ellie lives in grand comfort until the untimely death of her father, forcing Ellie and her


Swift River: A Read with Jenna Pick By Essie Chambers Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668027912
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 4th, 2024

A READ WITH JENNA TODAY SHOW BOOK CLUB PICK | A National Bestseller | A Most Anticipated Book from Today, Real Simple, Time, Los Angeles Times, and BookPage

“The book we all need to revive our souls” (Nicole Dennis-Benn): A sweeping family saga about the complicated bond between mothers and daughters, the disappearance of a father


The Funeral Ladies of Ellerie County: A Novel By Claire Swinarski Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063319882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - March 12th, 2024

Armed with a Crock-Pot and a pile of recipes, a grandmother, her granddaughter, and a mysterious young man work to bring a community together in this uplifting novel for readers of The Chicken Sisters.


A Novel Love Story By Ashley Poston Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780593640975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 25th, 2024

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Most Anticipated by Parade · Buzzfeed · Harper’s Bazaar · Elle · She Reads · The Seattle Times · BookRiot and more!


Happiness Falls: A Novel By Angie Kim Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593448229
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - May 7th, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK • When a father goes missing, his family’s desperate search leads them to question everything they know about him and one another in this thrilling page-turner, a deeply moving portrait of a family in crisis from the award-winning author of Miracle Creek.


If We Were Villains: A Novel By M. L. Rio Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250095299
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - April 17th, 2018

“Much like Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, M. L. Rio’s sparkling debut is a richly layered story of love, friendship, and obsession...will keep you riveted through its final, electrifying moments.”
—Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, New York Times bestselling author of The Nest

"Nerdily (and winningly) in love with Shakespeare…Readable, smart.”


Birnam Wood: A Novel By Eleanor Catton Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250321718
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - March 5th, 2024

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

A Best Book of the Year: The New York Times Book Review, NPR, The New Yorker, The Washington Post, The Atlantic, Time, Financial Times, Slate, The Chicago Public Library,
Kirkus, The Telegraph
A Barack Obama Summer Reading Pick

“[A] savagely satirical thriller.” —People


How Far the Light Reaches: A Life in Ten Sea Creatures By Sabrina Imbler Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9780316540506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - January 9th, 2024

A fascinating tour of creatures from the surface to the deepest ocean floor: this "miraculous, transcendental book" invites us to envision wilder, grander, and more abundant possibilities for the way we live (Ed Yong, author of An Immense World).

A queer, mixed race writer working in a largely white, male field, science and conservation journalist Sabrina Imb


Timid: A Graphic Novel By Jonathan Todd, Jonathan Todd (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jonathan Todd, Jonathan Todd (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338305708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - April 2nd, 2024

A semiautobiographical middle-grade graphic novel about frenemies, fitting in, and finding your voice.

Cecil Hall and his family have just moved from Florida to Massachusetts, near Boston. Cecil is anxious about making friends because he doesn't know where he'll fit in.


Same As It Ever Was: A Novel By Claire Lombardo Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780385549554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 18th, 2024

NAMED A BEST BOOK BY PEOPLE AND PARADE • The New York Times bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had (“wonderfully immersive…deliciously absorbing”—NPR) returns with another brilliantly observed family drama in which the enduring, hard-won affection of a long marriage faces imminent derailment from events both past and pr


The Shadows Between Us By Tricia Levenseller Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250353214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 11th, 2024

Featuring spray-painted and stenciled edges, a metallic foil case stamp, detailed map endpapers, an annotated chapter, a brand-new epilogue, and a ribbon, this special edition of Tricia Levenseller's epic YA tale of ambition and love, The Shadows Between Us, is a must have for any fan of villainous, swoon-worthy romance.


A Nature Lover's Sticker Book By Paola Deskins (Illustrator), Workman Publishing Cover Image
By Paola Deskins (Illustrator), Workman Publishing
$15.00
ISBN: 9781523524808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing Company - May 14th, 2024

A collection of 800+ beautifully illustrated stickers for every nature enthusiast.

Creatures of the forest and creatures of the sea. An artful meditation on the garden, a symphony of trees, colorful butterflies flitting among flowers, and a celebration of mushrooms.


The Stardust Grail: A Novel By Yume Kitasei Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250875372
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - June 11th, 2024

Save one world. Doom her own.

Maya Hoshimoto was once the best art thief in the galaxy. For ten years, she returned stolen artifacts to alien civilizations—until a disastrous job forced her into hiding. Now she just wants to enjoy a quiet life as a graduate student of anthropology, but she’s haunted by persistent and disturbing visions of the future.