Stacey's Book Reviews

The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle: An Uplifting and Unforgettable Story of Love and Second Chances Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: June 10, 2022

For fans of A Man Called OveThe Story of Arthur Truluv, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, this book is the story of a reclusive older man, whose life after a forced retirement from the postal service gets completely turned around for the better.  Albert is finally comfortable coming out, making community connections, and searching for his lost love.  It is a feelgood story, with a wonderful sense of place, and a host of quirky characters. - Stacey

New Girl in Little Cove Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: May 21, 2022

If, like me, you like a novel where not much happens, you will love this one! The language is really enjoyable, with a glossary at the back.  This book is a love letter to Newfoundland. Small town life at its best and worst.  Quirky characters, with a very lovable protagonist, who finds her way to acceptance in a tight-knit community.  For fans of Come From Away. Such a sweet book – if you’re looking for a feel-good story, this is it. - Stacey

The Sweetness of Water (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: April 19, 2022

This novel of the most unlikely, yet believable, relationships was so sad at parts, but ultimately uplifting.  Told beautifully, it takes place after the Civil War, and so, of course, has racism at its heart, but also touches on sexism, homophobia, and the high price we pay for keeping secrets.  There are characters to love, characters to hate, and a strong sense of place. It is a story to get lost in. - Stacey

The Four Winds: A Novel Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: March 14, 2022

The Depression, the Dust Bowl, hunger, hopelessness, foreclosures –all are the backdrop for The Four Winds.  Through it all, we get to know and come to love Elsa, an incredibly strong woman, who has dealt with all that the world has laid at her feet, her own illness, and rejection by her family.  She goes on to form a new family, and to take on new overwhelming challenges. Hannah paints a vivid picture of this world, and transports you there. - Stacey

A Good Neighborhood: A Novel Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: February 11, 2022

Reading A Good Neighborhood is like watching an impending train wreck – you know something bad is going to happen, you are powerless to stop it, and yet you can’t stop looking.  Fowler uses an unusual technique of having “the neighborhood” narrate the story, and we are given many forewarnings of impending doom, but not enough to tell us precisely what is going to happen.  And you want to know!  The story explores love, family, race and socioeconomic class, as it propels itself along. - Stacey

 

The Reading List: A Novel Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: January 31, 2022

I loved this book! A mysterious reading list appears in multiple people’s lives, with the heading, “Just in Case You Need It”, and changes each person that it touches.  The main characters in the book, Mukesh and Aleisha, form an unlikely and unexpected bond over reading the books on the list, and you can’t help but love both of them.  Indian culture and library culture are also main components of this book, as is stepping outside one’s comfort zone.  I highly recommend it! - Stacey

Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: January 15, 2022

I loved this book! A mysterious reading list appears in multiple people’s lives, with the heading, “Just in Case You Need It”, and changes each person that it touches.  The main characters in the book, Mukesh and Aleisha, form an unlikely and unexpected bond over reading the books on the list, and you can’t help but love both of them.  Indian culture and library culture are also main components of this book, as is stepping outside one’s comfort zone.  I highly recommend it! - Stacey

The Hug: Mini Edition Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: October 19, 2021

This book is adorable!  It tells two stories (flip the book over for the second one) - one of a turtle, and one of a hedgehog - both of whom need a hug.  None of the other animals want to hug them because they are either too busy, or the hedgehog is too prickly, and the turtle's shell is too hard.  Their stories meet in the middle for a very happy ending. - Stacey

Count the Ways: A Novel Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: October 19, 2021

I loved this book, and, despite its length, I did not want it to end! The development of all of the characters was excellent, and the descriptions of place were so vivid.  This was my favorite of Joyce Maynard’s novels, having liked them all.  Even though there are many upsetting things that happen in this book, it was so compelling, I did not want to put it down.  Strong themes of love, family, rage, and forgiveness, and a well-done story arc about a gender transition. - Stacey

 

Honor Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: October 6, 2021

I am such a fan of Thrity Umrigar, and this new novel did not disappoint! Centered around the horror of Afghani honor killings, the story is so compelling, and explores issues of misogyny, caste, religion, and patriarchy.  Woven throughout is a love story, a story of friendship and loyalty, and the question of how much dedication to one’s job should override personal issues.  Character development is great, and I highly recommend this book. - Stacey

The Color of Air: A Novel Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: September 15, 2021

This beautifully written novel takes place in Hawaii, and immerses you in the geography and culture there in the 1930s.  Strong character relationships are set against the backdrop of the Mauna Loa volcano eruption. The story also delves into workers’ rights struggles, difficult choices, love, regret, and secrets. A novel to sit down and savor. - Stacey

Dinosaur Therapy Cover Image
Reviewed by: Stacey
Posted: August 20, 2021

This book of comics will make you laugh, sigh, say "Aww", and "That's me!"  It is such a great little book full of everything, and I loved it!  Every strip is a dinosaur talking with another dinosaur or a turtle, which makes it all more endearing and poignant.  This book will be a real salve during these anxious times. Get one for yourself and one for a friend. - Stacey

Pages