Molly's Book Reviews

Fruiting Bodies: Stories By Kathryn Harlan Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 16, 2022

Harlan had me completely enamored with these short stories. Eerie and magical the characters in these stories are learning, growing, and decaying in the most fascinating ways. Beautiful writing and queer as heck too, this collection has put their books on my to be read list for life. I am so excited to read more from Kathryn Harlan in the future!

The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays By Esmé Weijun Wang Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 8, 2022

This collection of essays is a great insight into how living with schizophrenia can be. This collection almost reads like a cohesive book because the essays are ordered chronologically through Wang's life. Well paced and written in Wang's honest and open voice sharing an intimate view into her mental health and how it has shaped her life.

Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens By Marieke Nijkamp Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 8, 2022

Loved this collection of stories starring disabled teens written by disabled writers. A variety of disabilties are featured in these magical, scary, queer, soft, young loved filled stories. 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Our Shadows Have Claws: 15 Latin American Monster Stories By Yamile Saied Méndez, Amparo Ortiz, Ricardo López Ortiz (Illustrator) Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 8, 2022

A spooky and fun collection of monster stories based in various Latinx culters' lore. Felt really fresh and put new twists on some classic monster tales.

Such a Fun Age By Kiley Reid Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 8, 2022

Reid seriously knows how to write, all her characters felt so real and whole in this book. This read went by way faster than I wanted it to because I couldn't put it down! Had me laughing out loud at multiple points and aching deeply for the mistreatment and racism the main character, Emira, faces throughout. There is so much to unpack after finishing this book, in the best way.

Glitter Up the Dark: How Pop Music Broke the Binary (American Music Series) By Sasha Geffen Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 8, 2022

This book pretty comprehensively moved through decades of music in only 220 pages. I loved learning more about the gender disrupting musicians I already admire and about the queers I hadn't heard of who blazed a path with their sound and art. Coving way more than just pop music, this was a totally fascinating read.

Butter Honey Pig Bread By Francesca Ekwuyasi Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 8, 2022

A mother and her twin girls from Lagos, all experiencing deep pain that pulls them apart, hoping to come back toghether as a family. A story of old wounds untended, pain, familial love, and forgiveness. Ekwuyasi is phenominal, writing with an accesible and vulnerable voice that makes connecting with the characters so natural.

The Breakbeat Poets Vol. 4: Latinext By Felicia Chavez (Editor), José Olivarez (Editor), Willie Perdomo (Editor) Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 8, 2022

An excellent collection of diverse Latinx poets with varying styles and touching on numerous topics within the Latinx diaspora. A gorgeous collection that I will be revisiting for years to come.

Mostly Dead Things By Kristen Arnett Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 5, 2022

Following a woman taking over her family's taxidermy business as they all cope with two massive losses that none of them want to talk about. Arnett is such a quirky, cool, queer writer! She drops you into a world full of people dealing with the gaping holes left by those they lost and lets you figure out how to cope with the characters.

The Gap of Time: William Shakespeare' The Winter's Tale Retold: A Novel (Hogarth Shakespeare) By Jeanette Winterson Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 5, 2022

I loved this! A retelling of Shakespeare's A Winter's Tale set in 2008. Winterson is such captivating writer and puts such fun twists on this classic drama.

Black Queer Hoe By Britteney Black Rose Kapri, Danez Smith (Foreword by) Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: August 5, 2022

Kapri's poetry is unflinching, proud, rightfully angry, strong, and vulnerable. This collection of poetry cut through all the noise and landed directly on my heart; an absolute gift to read.

The Book of Living Secrets By Madeleine Roux Cover Image
Reviewed by: Molly
Posted: July 29, 2022

Two best friends use magic to travel into their favorite gothic romance novel set in 1800s Boston, only to find it is nothing like the book they adored. Magic, monsters, murder, and a bit of lesbian intrigue--this YA fantasy had everything I wanted! I really loved the ending, perfect finish for such a thrilling book with room to wonder what may come next...

Pages