Caitlyn's Book Reviews

Before I Let Go (Skyland) By Kennedy Ryan Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: March 19, 2024

A beautiful and raw story of two people coming back together after immense loss and grief and divorce. This story was handled with so much love and care and intricately crafted. Kennedy Ryan’s characters are real, faceted, and relatable. And honestly, I just loved the friendships and the positive representation of therapy. Such a great book. Can’t wait to get into her next one!!

Lonely Bird By Ruth Whiting, Ruth Whiting (Illustrator) Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: March 19, 2024

A captivating story of a little paper bird, perfect for crafters who love to use scraps to make something new! The art in this book is so incredibly impressive. Ruth Whiting painted with oil, cut out lonely bird and placed the paper onto the painting, and photographed the piece for the book. So amazing (and time consuming)!

Pre-Order Now Badge
Not Another Love Song By Julie Soto Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: March 19, 2024

OH WOW. If you’re looking for a romance that really has that Reylo feel, this one is for you. This book follows Gwen and Alex (or Xander, his stage name) on a journey through love and music. Gwen meets Alex at a wedding, where she plays his cello after a miscommunication. She’s trained in the violin. Thus ensues a complicated and sometimes messy journey through family, music, contract obligations, and musical politics. I am nothing if not a sucker for the MMC who’s absolutely obsessed with the oblivious FMC, and Julie Soto not only delivers on this but also gives us the FMC really developing an interest in the MMC. She kind of thinks he hates her but she’s also attracted to him!! I mean come on, that’s what I’m looking for in reimagined Reylo!! The tension and the sexual chemistry was just mind blowing and the plot kept me turning metaphorical pages (I read this as an e-book) at lightspeed. (That was a Star Wars reference to go with the Reylo theme.) This book is just *chef's kiss.*

Ready or Not: A Novel By Cara Bastone Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: March 19, 2024

Wow!! This book is a love letter to New York, absolutely hilarious, and a complicated tale of accidental pregnancy. I found most of the characters to feel three dimensional and complicated. Honestly, I was looking for more in Shep, but I loved him nevertheless. Eve’s journey through her pregnancy was handled so carefully, as she discovers more about being a mom and more about herself as her baby grows. I was so proud of her!! Cara Bastone’s voice is perfect for rom coms, and I can’t wait to see what she does next!

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Novel Love Story By Ashley Poston Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: February 23, 2024

When literature professor Eileen, Elsy, Merriweather decides to go on her book club's usual New York cabin trip alone, she never expects to drive straight into the fictional town from her favorite romance series. Ashley Poston has absolutely knocked it out of the park again, with this novel that felt like a romance sprinkled with magical realism. The tension between Elsy and Anders, the town's grumpy bookseller, kept my rapt attention. I devoured this book, compulsively turning the pages to find out what happened next. This is for anyone who wishes they could jump straight into the pages of their favorite book. One of my new favorite romances that totally gave me Big Fish the movie vibes. 

Luigi, the Spider Who Wanted to Be a Kitten By Michelle Knudsen, Kevin Hawkes (Illustrator) Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: February 17, 2024

A wonderfully goofy book about a fuzzy spider who befriends an old woman who names him Luigi and thinks he's a kitten. Such a cute book with illustrations that are so perfect. I love when Luigi uses 2 of his spider legs as cat ears! 

Next of Kin: A Novel By Hannah Bonam-Young Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: February 11, 2024

Chloe and Warren are paired to live together after their next of kin applications for their siblings come up short. Chloe needs more stable income and Warren needs a place with bedrooms. The solution? Move in together. Hannah Bonam-Young writes a tender, heartfelt romance where the characters grow their selves and their love as a unit. After I read Out on a Limb, I knew I would love this too. And I did! I LOVED this book. 

Dungeons and Drama By Kristy Boyce Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: January 26, 2024

After stealing her mom's car and driving without a permit, the theatre-obsessed Riley is grounded by her parents. The punishment? Working at her dad's game store. When a run-in with her ex boyfriend Paul and his new girlfriend, Riley blurts out that she's dating Nathan, her nerdy D&D-obsessed coworker. Did I mention they can't stand each other? Fake-dating shenanigans ensue after Riley convinces Nathan to actually pretend to date her in the hopes of catching his friend Sophia's eye. This was such a cute YA romance!! Very light and fun and with very low stakes. I really enjoyed the relationships between Nathan, Riley, and their friends. Also, this made me cringe with delight because it reminded me so much of being a high school theatre kid. Highly recommend for younger YA readers! 

Funny Story By Emily Henry Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: January 18, 2024

Filled with Emily Henry's heart, this book made me quite literally squeal, giggle, and kick my feet. This is THE small town rom-com, set in the charming town of Waning Bay that makes me long to visit Michigan. This book was absolutely swoony, definitely Emily's sexiest book so far. The relationship she and Miles form is both explosive and quiet, as they help each other come back from immense heartbreak. But, the cast of characters was what I fell in love with most. Daphne's parents each held so much emotional weight, and Miles' family relationships also packed a punch, especially his younger sister Julia, who comes to live with them. Watching Daphne navigate adult friendships was also a refreshing burst of platonic love that I'd love to see in more romance books! Ashleigh was my favorite character and she felt so dimensional, with a past that extends far beyond the books pages. This book was like a wonderful sunlit hug and a nice cup of chai. I can't wait to read it again.

Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: January 13, 2024

Betty and her grandmother love gardening together. But, when a visitor to their backyard wrecks havoc on their plants, Betty hatches a plan to scare off the intruder (an adorable badger). This story is gorgeously illustrated by Emily Sutton, super cute and fun, and the perfect spring read!! You won't be able to look away from the beautiful, bright illustrations and will notice something new everytime you read the book. 

Betty and the Mysterious Visitor By Anne Twist, Emily Sutton (Illustrator) Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: January 13, 2024

Betty and her grandmother love gardening together. But, when a visitor to their backyard wrecks havoc on their plants, Betty hatches a plan to scare off the intruder (an adorable badger). This story is gorgeously illustrated by Emily Sutton, super cute and fun, and the perfect spring read!! You won't be able to look away from the beautiful, bright illustrations and will notice something new every time you read the book. 

How to End a Love Story: A Novel By Yulin Kuang Cover Image
Reviewed by: Caitlyn
Posted: January 4, 2024

A complicated, complex romance between an author and a writer for the TV adaptation of her book series. Helen and Grant's lives were inextricably intertwined in high school by Helen's sister Michelle's suicide. Now adults, Helen and Grant must navigate working together on the tv show and their growing attraction. (Oh my god, the tension!!!) Helen's relationship with her parents was raw and honest, exposing a love complicated by their pasts and expectations for Helen's future. This was a wonderful novel, both heart wrenching and hilarious. Yulin Kuang is a quick new favorite for me (I love her style and voice!) and I can't wait to see what she does next as an author and as a screenwriter, working on the scripts for the film adaptations of Emily Henry's People We Meet on Vacation and Beach Read! 

Pages