Rebecca's Staff Picks

A little about Bookseller Rebecca:

Rebecca is a public health and sociology student, ice cream fiend, and theater enthusiast. When she's not reading, she can be found taking bike rides, creating art, and baking. Her favorite genres are general fiction, thrillers, memoirs, and essay collections.

These are the books she loves!

Make It Scream, Make It Burn: Essays Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316259637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 24th, 2019

From the "astounding" (Entertainment Weekly), "spectacularly evocative" (The Atlantic), and "brilliant" (Los Angeles Times) author of the New York Times bestsellers The Recovering and The Empathy Exams comes a return to the essay form in this expansive book.

With the virtuosic synthesis of memoir, criti


A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984896360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - February 4th, 2020

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! 

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer--but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.


My Ex-Life: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250122438
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Flatiron Books - May 8th, 2018

National Bestseller
Best Book of the Year: NPR, Shelf Awareness

“I didn't know how much I needed a laugh until I began reading Stephen McCauley's new novel, My Ex-Life. This is the kind of witty, sparkling, sharp novel for which the verb ‘chortle’ was invented.” —Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air


A Spark of Light: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780345544988
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Ballantine Books - October 2nd, 2018

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of Small Great Things returns with a powerful and provocative new novel about ordinary lives that intersect during a heart-stopping crisis.

“Picoult at her fearless best . . . Timely, balanced and certain to inspire debate.”—The Washington Post


When Sadness is at Your Door Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525707189
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 29th, 2019

A comforting primer in emotional literacy and mindfulness that suggests we approach the feeling of sadness as if it is our guest.

Sadness can be scary and confusing at any age! When we feel sad, especially for long periods of time, it can seem as if the sadness is a part of who we are--an overwhelming, invisible, and scary sensation.


I Might Regret This: Essays, Drawings, Vulnerabilities, and Other Stuff Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538713297
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 30th, 2018

From the co-creator and co-star of the hit series Broad City, a "poignant, funny, and beautifully unabashed" (Cheryl Strayed) New York Times bestselling essay collection about love, loss, work, comedy, and figuring out who you really are when you thought you already knew.


Ohio Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501174483
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 4th, 2019

“Extraordinary...beautifully precise...[an] earnestly ambitious debut.” —The New York Times Book Review

“A wild, angry, and devastating masterpiece of a book.” —NPR

“[A] descendent of the Dickensian ‘social novel’ by way of Jonathan Franzen: epic fiction that lays bare contemporary culture clashes, showin


The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780440420477
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - March 13th, 2007

This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look!


Doing Harm: The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062470805
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: HarperOne - March 6th, 2018

Editor of the award-winning site Feministing.com, Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with doctors and researchers, and personal stories from women across the country to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today.


The Perfect Mother: A Novel Cover Image
Currently Unavailable
ISBN: 9780062696793
Availability: Temporarily Unavailable
Published: Harper - May 1st, 2018

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AND MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE SUMMER—SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING SCANDAL’S KERRY WASHINGTON

An addictive psychological thriller about a group of women whose lives become unexpectedly connected when one of their newborns goes missing.


In the Unlikely Event: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781101873984
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Vintage - May 3rd, 2016

In this brilliant new novel—her first for adults since Summer Sisters—Judy Blume takes us back to the 1950s and introduces us to the town of Elizabeth, New Jersey, where she herself grew up. Here she imagines and weaves together a vivid portrait of three generations of families, friends, and strangers, whose lives are profoundly changed during one winter.


Sorority Cover Image
Currently Unavailable
ISBN: 9781501187476
Availability: Currently Unavailable
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - May 1st, 2018

Sisterhood is forever…whether you like it or not.

Prep meets Girls in White Dresses in Genevieve Sly Crane’s deliciously addictive, voyeuristic exploration of female friendship and coming of age that will appeal to anyone who has ever been curious about what happens in a sorority house.

Twinsets and pearls, secrets and kinship, rituals that hold sis


So Sad Today: Personal Essays Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781455562725
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 15th, 2016

From acclaimed poet and creator of the popular twitter account @SoSadToday comes the darkly funny and brutally honest collection of essays that Roxane Gay called "sad and uncomfortable and their own kind of gorgeous."


 A Tree Grows in Brooklyn [75th Anniversary Ed] Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060736262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - November 6th, 2018

A PBS Great American Read Top 100 Pick

A special 75th anniversary edition of the beloved American classic about a young girl's coming-of-age at the turn of the twentieth century.


Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors, and the Drug Company that Addicted America Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316551243
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown and Company - August 7th, 2018

Soon to be a Hulu Original Series 

Journalist Beth Macy's definitive account of America's opioid
epidemic "masterfully interlaces stories of communities in crisis with dark histories of corporate greed and regulatory indifference" (New York Times) -- from the boardroom to the courtroom and into the living rooms of Americans.