Newbery

The John Newbery Medal is awarded by the Association for Library Services to Children for the most distinguished contributions to children's literature.

Hello, Universe Cover Image
By Erin Entrada Kelly, Isabel Roxas (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062414151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 14th, 2017

Winner of the Newbery Medal

“A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.”—Washington Post

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.


Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut (Denene Millner Books) Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781572842243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Agate Bolden - October 10th, 2017

Winner of the 2018 Kirkus Prize for Young Readers
A Newbery Honor Book
A Caldecott Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book
An Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award Book
An Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Honor Book
A Society of Illustrators Gold Medal Book


Long Way Down Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481438254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 24th, 2017

A Newbery Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Honor Book
A Printz Honor Book
A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner for Young Adult Literature
Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature
Winner of the Walter Dean Myers Award
An Edgar Award Winner for Best Young Adult Fiction


Piecing Me Together Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681191058
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - February 14th, 2017

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner
New York Times bestseller

"Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson

"Important and deeply moving." --John Green


The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: Backordered at Warehouse
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

Winner of the 2017 Newbery Award
The New York Times Bestseller

An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
A School Library Journal Best Boo


Last Stop on Market Street Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399257742
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2015

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Winner of the 2016 Newbery Medal
A 2016 Caldecott Honor Book
A 2016 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book

A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015
A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2015


The War That Saved My Life Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147510488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - May 31st, 2016

*2016 Newbery Honor book
*Winner of the 2016 Schneider Family Book Award 

This #1 New York Times bestseller is an exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II. For fans of Counting by 7s and Sarah, Plain and Tall.
 


Roller Girl Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780803740167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - March 10th, 2015

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile


Echo Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780439874021
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 24th, 2015

2016 Newbery Honor Book

New York Times Bestseller



An impassioned, uplifting, and virtuosic tour de force from a treasured storyteller!




Lost and alone in a forbidden forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and suddenly finds himself entwined in a puzzling quest involving a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica.


The Crossover (The Crossover Series) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544107717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 18th, 2014

2015 Newbery Medal Winner
2015 Coretta Scott King Honor Award Winner
New York Times Bestseller 



"With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell.


Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, K.G. Campbell (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763660406
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - September 24th, 2013

Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


The One and Only Ivan Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780061992254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 17th, 2012

Soon to be a major motion picture!

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller


Dead End in Norvelt (Norvelt Series #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780374379933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - September 13th, 2011

Dead End in Norvelt is the winner of the 2012 Newbery Medal for the year's best contribution to children's literature and the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction!


When You Reach Me Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385737425
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - July 14th, 2009

"Like A Wrinkle in Time (Miranda's favorite book), When You Reach Me far surpasses the usual whodunit or sci-fi adventure to become an incandescent exploration of 'life, death, and the beauty of it all.'" —The Washington Post
 


The Graveyard Book Cover Image
By Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator), Margaret Atwood (Foreword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780060530921
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 30th, 2008

The original hardcover edition of a perennial favorite, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, which has sold more than one million copies and is the only novel to win both the Newbery Medal and the Carnegie Medal.


Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!: Voices from a Medieval Village Cover Image
By Laura Amy Schlitz, Robert Byrd (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780763615789
Availability: Backordered at Warehouse
Published: Candlewick - July 24th, 2007

Step back to an English village in 1255, where life plays out in dramatic vignettes illuminating twenty-two unforgettable characters. Winner of the Newbery Medal.


The Higher Power of Lucky Cover Image
By Susan Patron, Matt Phelan (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781416901945
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books - November 7th, 2006

Believing that her French guardian is about to abandon her to an orphanage in the city, ten-year-old Lucky runs away from her small town with her beloved dog by her side in order to trek across the Mojave Desert in this Newbery Medal-winning novel from Susan Patron.


Criss Cross Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060092726
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 30th, 2005

Debbie is wishing something would happen. Something good. To her. Soon.


Kira-Kira Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780689856402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - December 1st, 2006

kira-kira (kee ra kee ra): glittering; shining Glittering. That's how Katie Takeshima's sister, Lynn, makes everything seem. The sky is kira-kira because its color is deep but see-through at the same time. The sea is kira-kira for the same reason. And so are people's eyes.


The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780763680893
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - December 8th, 2015

A brave mouse, a covetous rat, a wishful serving girl, and a princess named Pea come together in Kate DiCamillo's Newbery Medal–winning tale.


Crispin The Cross of Lead Cover Image
By Avi
$7.99
ISBN: 9780786816583
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - June 1st, 2004

H "Avi's plot is engineered for maximum thrills, with twists, turns, and treachery aplenty. . . . A page-turner to delight Avi's fans, it will leave readers hoping for a sequel."-Publishers Weekly (starred review) H " . . . [T]he book is a page-turner from beginning to end . . .


A Single Shard Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780440418511
Availability: Special Order Only
Published: Yearling - February 11th, 2003

Tree-ear is an orphan boy in a 12th-century Korean potters’ village. When he accidentally breaks a pot, he must work for the master to pay for the damage by setting off on a difficult and dangerous journey that will change his life forever.


Bud, Not Buddy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385323062
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 1999

The Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Award-winning classic about a boy who decides to hit the road to find his father—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of The Watsons Go To Birmingham—1963, a Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree.
 


Holes (Holes Series) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780440414803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - May 9th, 2000

Winner of the Newbery Medal and the National Book Award! This #1 New York Times bestselling, modern classic in which boys are forced to dig holes day in and day out is now available with a splashy new look.