New Poetry

Desert: Poems Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781611805932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shambhala - July 10th, 2018

The first collection of original poetry by the renowned nature writer and highly lauded translator of the Chinese classics.

Traveling today I
found a river
somewhere inside
me, wondered

how far it
wanders there

and how much
sky it
mirrors. All day
long, wind and desert


American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin (Penguin Poets) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143133186
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 19th, 2018

A powerful, timely, dazzling collection of sonnets from one of America's most acclaimed poets, Terrance Hayes, the National Book Award winning author of Lighthead

"The right poetry collection for right now." - The Los Angeles Times

"Sonnets that reckon with Donald Trump's America." -The New York Times


Confessions of a Barefaced Woman Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781597096096
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - June 12th, 2018

The poems in Allison Joseph's latest collection are smart, shameless, and empowered confessions of the best kind.


The Terrible: A Storyteller's Memoir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143132622
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 5th, 2018

"Devastating and lyrical." --The New York Times

"Suspenseful and affecting." --The New Yorker

From the celebrated poet behind bone, a lyrical memoir--part prose, part verse--about coming-of-age, uncovering the cruelty and beauty of the wider world, and redemption through self-discovery and the bonds of family


Priest Turned Therapist Treats Fear of God: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978075
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - June 5th, 2018

Scribbled in the Dark: Poems Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062661180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - June 5th, 2018

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning former poet laureate, a collection of elegiac, irreverent new poems—an American master at the height of his talent


The Red Wheelbarrow & Other Poems Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9780811227889
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - May 29th, 2018

Because: A Lyric Memoir Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9780393635225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 15th, 2018

Joshua Mensch's devastating lyric memoir, Because, explores with extraordinary literary power and sophistication the toxic power of adults who prey on the children in their care. Its story begins when Mensch is ten years old and first meets Don, the charming director of a youth wilderness camp and a lifelong friend of his parents.


A Dog Runs Through It: Poems Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393651300
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 1st, 2018

Reflecting on her long and celebrated career in poetry, two-time National Book Award finalist Linda Pastan was struck by the number of dogs that have appeared in her poems--whether as the primary subject or in the briefest of allusions. Dogs run through these poems, so to speak.


Please Don't Go Before I Get Better Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781501196812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - May 1st, 2018

Discover this exquisite poetry and prose collection about the pains of growing up from the popular millennial Instagram poet, perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur.

Following her breakout debut Eighteen Years, poet Madisen Kuhn is thrilled to share this intimate portrait of a young woman navigating early adulthood and leaving her teenage years behind.


Typewriter Rodeo: Real People, Real Stories, Custom Poems Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781449487003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - April 3rd, 2018

What began as a playful idea among friends has made its way around the world, inspiring laughter, high-fives, hugs, and tears from New England to Brazil. Typewriter Rodeo celebrates poetry, spontaneity, and above all, the power of human connection.


The Future Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781943735310
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Button Poetry - April 17th, 2018

Neil Hilborn's highly anticipated second collection of poems, The Future, invites readers to find comfort in hard nights and better days. Filled with nostalgia, love, heartbreak, and the author's signature wry examinations of mental health, this book helps explain what lives inside us, what we struggle to define.


Wade in the Water: Poems Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781555978136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - April 3rd, 2018

The extraordinary new poetry collection by Tracy K. Smith, the Poet Laureate of the United States

Even the men in black armor, the ones
Jangling handcuffs and keys, what else

Are they so buffered against, if not love's blade
Sizing up the heart's familiar meat?

We watch and grieve. We sleep, stir, eat.
Love: the heart sliced open, gutted, clean.


Heart Talk: Poetic Wisdom for a Better Life Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501177347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - March 6th, 2018

A beautifully illustrated book from Cleo Wade--the artist, poet, and speaker who has been called "the Millennial Oprah" by New York Magazine--that offers creative inspiration and life lessons through poetry, mantras, and affirmations, perfect for fans of the bestseller Milk & Honey.


Girl with Death Mask (Blue Light Books) Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9780253032799
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Indiana University Press - March 17th, 2018

Love, tequila, sex, first periods, late nights, abuse, and heartache. The journey from girl to womanhood is brimming with transformative magic that heals even as it shatters. These are the memories that haunt the dreams of what was and what could have been in Girl with Death Mask.


Corazón Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945649134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Not a Cult - October 2nd, 2017

Coraz n is a love story. It is about the constant hunger for love. It is about feeding that hunger with another person and finding that sometimes it isn't enough. Salgado creates a world in which the heart can live anywhere; her fat brown body, her parents home country, a lover, a toothbrush, a mango, or a song.


You & Me & Why We Are in Love Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780143110699
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - January 2nd, 2018

A quirky collection of illustrated vignettes about love in its many forms

Like all great ideals, Love--the kind written with a capital letter--often seems elusive. So then maybe it's better, as Aurelia Alca's does, to talk about the kind written in lower case, the more intimate kind of love, the kind that intertwines with our lives and creeps into the cracks of the everyday.


Nothing Is Okay Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781943735303
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Button Poetry - February 20th, 2018

Nothing is Okay is the second full-length poetry collection by Rachel Wiley, whose work simultaneously deconstructs the lies that we were taught about our bodies and our beings, and builds new ways of viewing ourselves. As she delves into queerness, feminism, fatness, dating, and race, Wiley molds these topics into a punching critique of culture and a celebration of self.


Planting Gardens in Graves Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781449487171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - February 6th, 2018

From the beloved author of Whiskey, Words, and a Shovel comes the first volume in an all new series.


Cat Poems Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9780811227506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - February 27th, 2018

Across the ages, cats have provided their adopted humans with companionship, affection, mystery, and innumerable metaphors; cats cast a mirror on their beholders; cats endlessly captivate and hypnotize, frustrate and delight.


The Mobius Strip Club of Grief Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941040850
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - February 27th, 2018

The Mobius Strip Club of Grief is a collection of poems that take place in a burlesque purgatory where the living pay--dearly, with both money and conscience--to watch the dead perform scandalous acts otherwise unseen: "$20 for five minutes. I'll hold your hand in my own," one ghost says.