New Picture Books

A colorful collection of the latest picture books.

 

Mermaid Dance Cover Image
By Matthew Van Fleet, Mara Van Fleet (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9781665904919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - January 18th, 2022

From #1 New York Times bestsellers Matthew and Mara Van Fleet comes a charming novelty book filled with mermaids, mermen, and charming underwater animals young readers can dance along with!

Follow along with the merkids as their sea creature friends form a dance party and teach them the narwhal nod, the silly seal spin, polar bear twist, and more!


I Love You Because I Love You Cover Image
By Muon Thi Van, Jessica Love (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062894595
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 18th, 2022

Author Muợn Thị Văn and Stonewall Book Award-winning artist Jessica Love detail all the big and small reasons why we love the people we do within a call-and-response picture book that features families across the spectrum.

“I love you because you tell the best stories.

Because I love you, my best story is you.


Anzu the Great Kaiju Cover Image
By Benson Shum, Benson Shum (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250776129
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 11th, 2022

An adorable picture book about a tiny monster with a big heart trying to follow in his family's footsteps.

All great Kaiju are born with a super power to strike fear in the heart of the city.
But Anzu is different.
Instead of mayhem, he likes May flowers.
Instead of striking fear, he prefers to be sincere.


Fly Cover Image
By Brittany J. Thurman, Anna Cunha (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534454873
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - January 11th, 2022

Pure joy and the power of community radiate from this sweet picture book about a young Black girl’s perseverance and confidence in following her double Dutch dreams.

Africa’s grandmother was a double Dutch legend, and Africa knows she can become the same.


Where Is Bina Bear? Cover Image
By Mike Curato, Mike Curato (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250762207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 11th, 2022

In Mike Curato's funny, poignant picture book Where Is Bina Bear?, a little rabbit throws a party—but can't find best friend Bina Bear anywhere!


Daddy Speaks Love Cover Image
By Leah Henderson, E. B. Lewis (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593354360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - January 4th, 2022

A moving tribute to the joy and grounding that fathers bring to their children's lives.


Staff Pick Badge
The Year We Learned to Fly Cover Image
By Jacqueline Woodson, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399545535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - January 4th, 2022

Jacqueline Woodson and Rafael López's highly anticipated companion to their #1 New York Times bestseller The Day You Begin illuminates the power in each of us to face challenges with confidence.


Bright Brown Baby Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780545872294
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orchard Books - January 4th, 2022

A rhythmic, whimsically illustrated celebration of Black and brown babies and the joy, tender moments, and boundless love shared between children and their caregivers, from New York Times bestselling and award-winning duo Andrea Davis Pinkney and Brian Pinkney.

Brown baby, born bright.

Greet the world.


Stacey’s Extraordinary Words Cover Image
By Stacey Abrams, Kitt Thomas (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063209473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - December 28th, 2021

#1 New York Times bestseller! The debut picture book from iconic voting rights advocate and bestselling author Stacey Abrams is an inspiring tale of determination, based on her own childhood. 

Stacey is a little girl who loves words more than anything. She loves reading them, sounding them out, and finding comfort in them when things are hard. 


Friends Are Friends, Forever Cover Image
By Dane Liu, Lynn Scurfield (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250778185
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 4th, 2022

A picture book based on the author's own immigration story, the infinite impact of friendship, and passing on love and kindness around the world.


Milk and Juice: A Recycling Romance Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063021853
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - December 21st, 2021

Milk and Juice is a hilarious, quirky debut picture book by Meredith Crandall Brown that follows a bottle of juice and a jug of milk on their recycling love story. Perfect for fans of Peanut Butter & Cupcake by Terry Border!


Duckling Cover Image
By Kamila Shamsie, Laura Barrett (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781642595758
Availability: Available from Warehouse (minimum 2 days to arrive)
Published: Haymarket Books - January 4th, 2022

On the farm, some eggs are hatching. A flock of sweet ducklings are popping out but one duckling looks different from all the others.Kamila Shamsie retells The Ugly Duckling with great empathy and a warm heart. Cast out and all alone, the odd duckling will need all her bravery and curiosity to survive. Her journey is a search for belonging, but what she finds is the right to be different.