New Picture Books

A colorful collection of the latest picture books.

 

The Moon Tonight: Our Moon's Journey Around Earth By Jung Chang-Hoon, Jang Ho (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jung Chang-Hoon, Jang Ho (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781737603252
Availability: Available from Warehouse (minimum 2 days delivery time)
Published: Blue Dot Kids Press - January 24th, 2023

Follow our moon as it waxes and wanes across the night sky in this informative and stunning nonfiction picture book by an astronomer and award-winning illustrator.


Sprout Branches Out By Jessika von Innerebner, Jessika von Innerebner (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250848789
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 24th, 2023

Discover the unbe-leaf-ably adorable story of a young plant with mulch to learn in this feel-good tale perfect for fans of The Bad Seed and Grumpy Monkey.


The Very Best Hug By Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Alison Brown (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547612369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - January 24th, 2023

A delightful picture book about the power of hugs, from the mega-bestselling creators of I Love You Night and Day, You Make Me Happy and I'll Never Let You Go.

Have you ever wondered who gives the very BEST hug?
The kind that's warm and cozy and snug?
Extra squeezy, but never too tight,
the kind that fits you COMPLETELY right?


Just Like Grandma By Kim Rogers, Julie Flett (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kim Rogers, Julie Flett (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063049246
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heartdrum - January 24th, 2023

In this lyrical picture book by Kim Rogers (Wichita), with illustrations by Boston Globe-Horn Book Honoree Julie Flett (Cree-Métis), Becca watches her grandma create, play, and dance—and she knows that she wants to be just like Grandma.


Yuna's Cardboard Castles By Marie Tang, Jieting Chen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marie Tang, Jieting Chen (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781506483412
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beaming Books - January 24th, 2023

Fold, fit, tuck . . .

Yuna and her family have just moved to the United States, and she doesn't speak English yet. At first, her attempts to catch the attention of the neighborhood kids get lost in translation, but when she shows that she can do something very special with paper, a whole new world unfolds.


Beneath By Cori Doerrfeld Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316312264
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2023

In this stunning story from New York Times bestselling creator Cori Doerrfeld, a child and their grandfather take a walk in the woods and discover more about themselves.

 
Finn is in a horrible mood and doesn't want to talk about it. After some persuading, though, they agree to go for a hike with Grandpa.


Mister Kitty Is Lost! By Greg Pizzoli Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316056540
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2023

A fun and interactive preschool adventure (with cutout surprises on almost every page!) that explores counting and colors, from the award-winning creator of The Watermelon Seed and Good Night Owl.

Mister Kitty is missing somewhere inside this book!


You So Black By Theresa tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D., London Ladd (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781665900348
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books f - January 10th, 2023

Based on Theresa Wilson’s (a.k.a. Theresa tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D.’s) beautiful, viral spoken word poem of the same name, You So Black is a picture book celebration of the richness, the nuance, and the joy of Blackness.

Black is everywhere, and in everything, and in everyone—in the night sky and the fertile soil below.


Big Sister, Little Sister By LeUyen Pham, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator) Cover Image
By LeUyen Pham, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316459334
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: LB Kids - January 10th, 2023

This backlist gem about sisters was Caldecott Honor winning and bestselling author and illustrator LeUyen Pham's authorial debut, and has netted nearly 60,000 copies in hardcover -- now available as a board book!

The big sister usually does things first.


Very Good Hats By Emma Straub, Blanca Gomez (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Emma Straub, Blanca Gomez (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593529430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rocky Pond Books - January 10th, 2023

The first picture book by bestselling novelist Emma Straub, author of This Time Tomorrow, this is a joyous, inventive, adorably illustrated read-aloud that will inspire kids to see ordinary objects in a whole new way.


The Kindest Red: A Story of Hijab and Friendship (The Proudest Blue #2) By Ibtihaj Muhammad, S. K. Ali, Hatem Aly (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ibtihaj Muhammad, S. K. Ali, Hatem Aly (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780759555709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 10th, 2023

The sequel to the acclaimed New York Times bestseller The Proudest Blue shows the power of friendship and kindness, from Olympic medalist Ibtihaj Muhammad.

It’s picture day and Faizah can’t wait to wear her special red dress with matching hair ribbons, passed down from her mother and sister.


Anzu the Great Listener (Anzu the Great Kaiju #2) By Benson Shum, Benson Shum (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Benson Shum, Benson Shum (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250776136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 10th, 2023

In this follow-up to Anzu the Great Kaiju, created by Walt Disney Studios animator Benson Shum, we follow sweet and well-intentioned Anzu as he learns a valuable lesson about patience and empathy in the face of sadness—perfect for fans of The Rabbit Listened.

Anzu the kaiju loves to tend to his bonsai.