New Middle Grade

Got a middle grade reader who devours books like they're Cool Ranch Doritos? Give them one of these. You'll be their new favorite friend/relative.

 

The Vanderbeekers on the Road By Karina Yan Glaser Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358434573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - September 20th, 2022

In this new adventure in the New York Times bestselling series, the Vanderbeekers depart Harlem to celebrate their dad's birthday. But their surprise road trip turns rocky when the younger kids try to keep their family from ever facing change.


Amira & Hamza: The Quest for the Ring of Power By Samira Ahmed Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316318617
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 20th, 2022

Amira and Hamza are back in this epic sequel, which takes readers on a thrilling magical adventure as the siblings face their most terrifying and formidable opponent yet.

All human and jinn kind shall bow down to me.


Tales from the Treehouse: Too Silly to Be Told . . . Until NOW! (The Treehouse Books) By Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781250850140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 20th, 2022

International author-illustrator superstar duo Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton are back, and this time they've cooked up a hilarious book of 13 standalone stories to complement their beloved chapter book series.

A lot of stuff happens in our ever-expanding treehouse.

Not everything gets into the books.

These are some other things that happened to us…


His Dark Materials: The Collectors By Philip Pullman, Tom Duxbury (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Philip Pullman, Tom Duxbury (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593378342
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 20th, 2022

A chilling Gothic tale with a revealing glimpse of the iconic Mrs. Coulter--one of Philip Pullman's most enigmatic characters. This companion story to His Dark Materials is now in print for the first time in a beautiful gift edition.


Kids Can Cook Anything!: The Complete How-To Cookbook for Young Chefs, with 75 Kid-Tested, Kid-Approved Recipes (Young Chefs Series) By America's Test Kitchen Kids Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781954210240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: America's Test Kitchen Kids - September 20th, 2022

With the fifth book in the #1 New York Times Best Selling Young Chef Series, America's Test Kitchen is bringing its scientific know-how, rigorous testing, and hands-on learning to KIDS in the kitchen!
 


Wildoak By C. C. Harrington Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338803860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 20th, 2022

When the fates of a snow leopard, a child, and an ancient forest collide, the unimaginable can happen.


Island of Spies By Sheila Turnage Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780735231252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - September 20th, 2022

"The Dime Novel Kids are spunky, spirited, smart, sassy—and so is Sheila Turnage’s writing. It sizzles and sparkles." —Lauren Wolk, author of Newbery Honor Book Wolf Hollow

From the Newbery Honor-winning author of Three Times Lucky comes a middle grade WWII spy mystery with as much humor and heart as high stakes


Airi Sano, Prankmaster General: New School Skirmish By Zoe Tokushige, Jennifer Naalchigar (Illustrator) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780593465783
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 20th, 2022

A hilarious story of new-school hijinks, filled with friendship, family, and plenty of pranks--perfect for fans of Dork Diaries and Diary of a Wimpy Kid!


Mysteries of Trash and Treasure: The Secret Letters By Margaret Peterson Haddix Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062838520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 20th, 2022

In this page-turning middle grade series by New York Times bestseller Margaret Peterson Haddix, Colin and Nevaeh, whose parents own rival junk-removal businesses, uncover mysteries hidden in attics and basements and discover how trash can become treasure.


The Vanquishers By Kalynn Bayron Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547609772
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - September 20th, 2022

In the world of the Vanquishers, vampires were history . . . until now.

"A sharp vampire tale full of bite, heart, and humor." --Rena Barron, author of the Maya and the Rising Dark series

"Boog and her friends will capture your heart in an instant." --Mark Oshiro, author of The Insiders


The Inkwell Chronicles: The Ink of Elspet, Book 1 By J. D. Peabody Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781546001980
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: WorthyKids - September 13th, 2022

Immerse yourself in this fast-paced middle-grade fantasy about magic ink, a secret society, and a boy who yearns to make his mark.

When their father goes missing after a mysterious train crash, Everett and his little sister Bea find a curious pen in his belongings, and its magical Ink begins to rewrite their once-ordinary lives. The Ink leads them to a world they never knew


The Stars Did Wander Darkling By Colin Meloy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063015517
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 13th, 2022

A suspenseful and atmospheric horror set in 1980s Oregon, perfect for fans of Stranger Things, Neil Gaiman, and Margaret Peterson Haddix, from New York Times bestselling author and the Decemberists’ lead singer/songwriter, Colin Meloy.

Maybe Archie Coomes has been watching too many horror movies.