New Middle Grade

Got a middle grade reader who devours books like they're Cool Ranch Doritos? Give them one of these. You'll be their new favorite friend/relative.

 

The Doggie Defendant: Ready-to-Read Graphics Level 3 (Judge Kim and the Kids’ Court) By Milo Stone, Shawn Martinbrough, Joseph P. Illidge, Christopher Jordan (Illustrator) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781665919661
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Spotlight - January 24th, 2023

Judge Kim presides over a case against her beloved pet dog in this second book in the Judge Kim and the Kids’ Court Level 3 Ready-to-Read Graphics series!

When Neil’s extravagant birthday party is ruined, he blames the mess on Kim and Miles’s dog, Digger! Can Miles defend Digger and prove his innocence—or is Digger not the good boy that Kim thought he was?


Cut!: How Lotte Reiniger and a Pair of Scissors Revolutionized Animation By C. E. Winters, Matt Schu (Illustrator) Cover Image
By C. E. Winters, Matt Schu (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063067394
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - January 24th, 2023

Long before Walt Disney, a young woman revolutionized the landscape of animation using light, a pair of scissors, and her imagination. From acclaimed author C. E. Winters and debut illustrator Matt Schu, STEM meets the arts in this engaging nonfiction picture book biography about Lotte Reiniger.


Love Without Bounds: An Intersectionallies Book about Families By Chelsea Johnson, Latoya Council, Carolyn Choi Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781948340519
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dottir Press - January 24th, 2023

This follow-up to the critically acclaimed IntersectionAllies: We Make Room for All honors the diversity of family life and what family can mean based on our intersecting identities and experiences.


The Many Fortunes of Maya By Nicole D. Collier Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358434641
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - January 24th, 2023

In this lyrical novel that will appeal to fans of Meg Medina, Maya turns to her trusty "wheel of fortunes" for guidance on the toughest questions—like why her best friend suddenly feels far away, or when her Daddy will move back home. But can Maya find the courage to write her own fortune? 

Maya J. Jenkins is bursting with questions:


The Lost Year: A Survival Story of the Ukrainian Famine By Katherine Marsh Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250313607
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - January 17th, 2023

From the author of Nowhere Boy - called “a resistance novel for our times” by The New York Times - comes a brilliant middle-grade survival story that traces a harrowing family secret back to the Holodomor, a terrible famine that devastated Soviet Ukraine in the 1930s.


The Children's Book of Birdwatching: Nature-Friendly Tips for Spotting Birds By Dan Rouse Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780744072808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DK Children - January 17th, 2023

A fun, engaging birdwatching book for kids, full of information, activities, and tips on how to spot, identify, and care for birds.  


Just Jerry: How Drawing Shaped My Life By Jerry Pinkney Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316383851
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2023

An inspiring memoir of a Caldecott-winning artist and one of the most acclaimed children’s book illustrators of all time, sharing the story of a young artist who finds the courage to follow his passion against all odds.

* "A moving work from a legend of children's literature and a testament to his legacy of visual storytelling." &md


A Soft Place to Land By Janae Marks Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062875891
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 17th, 2023

In this compelling and heartfelt mystery story, Janae Marks—author of the acclaimed bestselling From the Desk of Zoe Washington—follows a young girl reshaping her meaning of home. Perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Rebecca Stead. Two starred reviews!


The Enchanted Bridge (Dragons in a Bag #4) By Zetta Elliott, Cherise Harris (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Zetta Elliott, Cherise Harris (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593427743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2023

Getting three baby dragons back home was just the beginning. Now Jaxon is on a mission to help all magical creatures from Dragons in a Bag! But things in the magical realm are more complicated than they seem in the fourth book in the critically acclaimed series.


World Made of Glass By Ami Polonsky Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316462044
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2023

A girl channels her grief and pain into love and activism in this heartbreaking, heart-mending novel of family, friendship, and community.
 
Iris tries to act normal at school, going through the motions and joking around with her friends. But nothing is normal, and sometimes it feels like she’ll never laugh again.


The Big Cheese: Ready-to-Read Graphics Level 1 (Figgy & Boone) By Janee Trasler, Janee Trasler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Janee Trasler, Janee Trasler (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781665914512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Spotlight - January 17th, 2023

In the second Level 1 Ready-to-Read Graphics book about a mouse named Figgy and a rat named Boone, the friends discover a big wheel of cheese!

When Figgy and Boone find a big wheel of cheese, they try to push it up the hill to their house. They work together, but it keeps rolling down the hill.


What Happened to Rachel Riley? By Claire Swinarski Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063213098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - January 10th, 2023

In this engrossing and inventive contemporary middle grade novel that's Where'd You Go Bernadette? with a #MeToo message, an eighth grader uses social media posts, passed notes, and other clues to find out why a formerly popular girl is now the pariah of her new school.