New Middle Grade

Got a middle grade reader who devours books like they're Cool Ranch Doritos? Give them one of these. You'll be their new favorite friend/relative.

 

The Witch's Apprentice (Dragons in a Bag #3) Cover Image
By Zetta Elliott, Cherise Harris (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593427705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 18th, 2022

The dragons may be out of the bag, but Jaxon is ready to hatch some magic of his own in this third book in the critically acclaimed series.


A History of Me Cover Image
By Adrea Theodore, Erin Robinson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823442577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - January 18th, 2022

Who do you see when you look in the mirror? One mother’s account of her experience as the only Black child in school serves as an empowering message to her own daughter and children of color everywhere.
 


A Place to Land: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Speech That Inspired a Nation Cover Image
By Barry Wittenstein, Jerry Pinkney (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780823451135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Neal Porter Books - January 18th, 2022

As a new generation of activists demands an end to racism, A Place to Land reflects on Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" speech and the movement that it galvanized. Now available in paperback.

Winner of the Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children
Selected for the Texas Bluebonnet Master List


Bold Words from Black Women: Inspiration and Truths from 50 Extraordinary Leaders Who Helped Shape Our World Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534463943
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books f - January 18th, 2022

Celebrate the power of Black womanhood in this first-of-its-kind collection of inspirational quotes from fifty activists, artists, and leaders, featuring bold, attention-grabbing illustrations—perfect for readers of Herstory and Little Leaders.

This incredible volume honors fifty modern women, presented with their own words, who have dared to raise their voices an


Northwind Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374314200
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - January 11th, 2022

This stunning novel from the survival story master, set along a rugged coastline centuries ago, does for the ocean what Hatchet does for the woods, as it relates the story of a young person’s battle to stay alive against the odds, where the high seas meet a coastal wilderness.


The Faith of Elijah Cummings: The North Star of Equal Justice Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593306505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Studio - January 11th, 2022

Congressman and civil rights advocate Elijah Cummings dedicated his life to public service. This comprehensive and visually stunning biography details his humble beginnings and unwavering faith as he waged an endless battle for truth, justice, and equality.

We can do better.


Evicted!: The Struggle for the Right to Vote Cover Image
By Alice Faye Duncan, Charly Palmer (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781684379798
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Calkins Creek - January 11th, 2022

This critical civil rights book for middle-graders examines the little-known Tennessee's Fayette County Tent City Movement in the late 1950s and reveals what is possible when people unite and fight for the right to vote. Powerfully conveyed through interconnected stories and told through the eyes of a child, this book combines poetry, prose, and stunning illustrations to shine light on


City of the Plague God Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368067324
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 11th, 2022

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD, an adventure based on ancient Mesopotamian mythology written by Sarwat Chadda, author of the Ash Mistry series.

"An epic worthy of Gilgamesh. Chadda brings attention to the less well-recognized mythology of ancient Mesopotamia with engaging humor and wit."--Kirkus Reviews


Tiger Honor (A Thousand Worlds Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368055543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 4th, 2022

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Yoon Ha Lee's companion to the best-selling and award-winning DRAGON PEARL, another space opera inspired by Korean mythology, this time told from the point of view of a nonbinary tiger spirit.


The Legend of Gravity: A Tall Basketball Tale Cover Image
By Charly Palmer, Charly Palmer (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374313289
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - January 4th, 2022

In his author-illustrator debut, Coretta Scott King-John Steptoe–and Africana Book Award–winning illustrator Charly Palmer spins a tall tale about a neighborhood basketball hero.

Have you ever heard of Gravity? No, not gravity, the centrifugal force pulling us to the Earth. I'm talking about Gravity--the greatest ball player to ever lace up a pair of sneakers.


Operation Sisterhood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593379899
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 4th, 2022

Fans of the Netflix reboot of The Babysitters Club will delight as four new sisters band together in the heart of New York City. Discover this jubilant novel about the difficulties of change, the loyalty of sisters, and the love of family from a prolific award-winning author.

"[A] jubilant middle grade novel." -The New York Times
 


Hide and Geek Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593377932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 4th, 2022

A puzzlemaker's last clue. A friendship's last chance.

The GEEKs:
Gina, Edgar, Elena, and Kevin have been best friends for as long as they can remember. So when their arch-nemesis points out that their initials make them literally GEEKs, they decide to go with it.
 
The problem: