New Adult Non-Fiction

“You know, everybody's ignorant, just on different subjects.” 
― Will Rogers

 

Hip-Hop Is History By Questlove, Ben Greenman (With) Cover Image
By Questlove, Ben Greenman (With)
$30.00
ISBN: 9780374614072
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: AUWA - June 11th, 2024

This is a book only Questlove could have written: a perceptive and personal reflection on the first half-century of hip-hop.


The Friday Afternoon Club: A Family Memoir By Griffin Dunne Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593652824
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Penguin Press - June 11th, 2024

“What a remarkable and moving story filled with twists and turns, the most famous of faces, and a complex family revealed with loving candor. I was blown away by Griffin Dunne’s life and his ability to capture so much of it in these beautifully written pages.” —Anderson Cooper


Roctogenarians: Late in Life Debuts, Comebacks, and Triumphs By Mo Rocca, Jonathan Greenberg Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668052501
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 11th, 2024

From beloved CBS Sunday Morning correspondent Mo Rocca, author of New York Times bestseller Mobituaries, comes an inspiring collection of stories that celebrates the triumphs of people who made their biggest marks late in life.

Eighty has been the new sixty for about twenty years now.


Just Add Water: My Swimming Life By Katie Ledecky Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668060209
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 11th, 2024

WHAT MAKES A CHAMPION?

“I never imagined I would make it to the Olympics, or be at this level, or write a book about this unlikely career that I’ve had. But I’ve really enjoyed the ride, this journey.”

Katie Ledecky is one of the best swimmers ever to compete. She has won more individual Olympic races than any female swimmer in history.


The Great River: The Making and Unmaking of the Mississippi By Boyce Upholt Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780393867879
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 11th, 2024

A sweeping history of the Mississippi River—and the centuries of human meddling that have transformed both it and America.


White Poverty: How Exposing Myths About Race and Class Can Reconstruct American Democracy By William J. Barber, II, Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove (With) Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781324094876
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - June 11th, 2024

An explosive work with far-ranging historical implications, White Poverty promises to be one of the most influential books of the 2024 election cycle.


Kissing Girls on Shabbat: A Memoir By Sara Glass Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668031216
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Atria/One Signal Publishers - June 11th, 2024

A moving coming-of-age memoir in the vein of Unorthodox and Educated, about one young woman’s desperate attempt to protect her children and family while also embracing her queer identity in a controlling Hasidic community.

Growing up in the Hasidic community of Brooklyn’s Borough Park, Sara Gla


T-Shirt Swim Club: Stories from Being Fat in a World of Thin People By Ian Karmel, Alisa Karmel, PsyD Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593580929
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rodale Books - June 11th, 2024

Comedian Ian Karmel, with help from his sister, Dr. Alisa Karmel, opens up about the daily humiliations of being fat and why it’s so hard to talk about something so visible.

“As charming and funny as it is poignant and thoughtful.”—Roxane Gay, author of Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body


Proverbs of Limbo: Poems By Robert Pinsky Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374611958
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - June 11th, 2024

A new book of poems by the three-time poet laureate Robert Pinsky, a writer "rarely equalled" (Louise Glück).

Robert Pinsky, one of our most ambitious, inventive, and finely tuned poets, takes an original approach to the fraught, central matter of borders in Proverbs of Limbo, his first new book of poetry in eight years.


This Thread of Gold: A Celebration of Black Womanhood By Catherine Joy White Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593475164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - June 11th, 2024

“Beautiful… A gift to ourselves and to the world.”— Mikki Kendall, New York Times bestselling author of Hood Feminism

From gender adviser to the UN Catherine Joy White comes This Thread of Gold, a lyrical celebration of the history of Black women who challenged stereotypes through film, politics, activism, and beyond.


Baby Food Bible: A Nourishing Guide to Feeding Your Family, From First Bite and Beyond By Julia Tellidis, Lauren Skora Cover Image
$37.99
ISBN: 9781761450303
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hardie Grant - June 11th, 2024

Baby Food Bible takes the fuss out of introducing solids to your baby with 100+ nutritionist approved recipes that the whole family will love.


Forget about making a separate meal for your baby, the simple recipes in this book are family favorites that everyone can enjoy.


Gas Fire Heat: Essential Recipes and Secrets for Cooking Outdoors By Aly Romero Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781641709101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Familius - May 14th, 2024

Savor the thrill of outdoor cooking with loved ones, as renowned chef Aly Romero shares her expertise and cherished memories, offering a collection of unique and creative recipes that celebrate family bonds, while providing adaptations for indoor cooking so everyone can enjoy the incredible flavors.
 
Get excited about cooking together outdoors!