VIRTUAL: YA Panel on Duologies

Signed bookplates are available and all attendees will receive a digital Fierce Reads sampler!

Join us as moderator Rachel Strolle, Teen Services Coordinator and BuzzFeed writer, leads a lively discussion of second books in fantasy series!  The panel will consist of: Hafsah Faizal (We Free the Stars (Sands of Arawiya #2)), Adalyn Grace (All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth Duology #2)), Alexandra Christo (City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place #2)), and Tanaz Bhathena (Rising Like a Storm (The Wrath of Ambar#2)).  Sign up for this Zoom webinar here.

About We Free the Stars (Sands of Arawiya #2):

The second book in the Sands of Arawiya duology by the masterful Hafsah Faizal—the follow-up to the smash New York Times bestselling novel We Hunt the Flame.

Darkness surged in his veins. Power bled from her bones.

The battle on Sharr is over. The Arz has fallen. Altair may be captive, but Zafira, Nasir, and Kifah are bound for Sultan’s Keep, determined to finish the plan Altair set in motion: restoring the hearts of the Sisters of Old to the minarets of each caliphate, finally bringing magic to all of Arawiya. But they are low on resources and allies alike, and the kingdom teems with fear of the Lion of the Night’s return.

As the zumra plots to overthrow Arawiya’s darkest threat, Nasir fights to command the magic in his blood. He must learn to hone his power, to wield it against not only the Lion but his father as well, trapped under the Lion’s control. Zafira battles a very different darkness festering in her through her bond with the Jawarat—it hums with voices, pushing her to the brink of sanity and to the edge of a chaos she dares not unleash. In spite of everything, Zafira and Nasir find themselves falling into a love they can’t stand to lose . . . But time is running out, and if order is to be restored, drastic sacrifices will have to be made.

Lush and striking, hopeful and devastating, We Free the Stars is the masterful conclusion to the Sands of Arawiya duology by New York Times–bestselling author Hafsah Faizal.

Hafsah Faizal is the New York Times bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame, and the founder of IceyDesigns, where she creates websites for authors and beauteous goodies for everyone else. When she’s not writing, she can be found designing, deciding between Assassin’s Creed and Skyrim, or traversing the world. Born in Florida and raised in California, she now resides in Texas with her family and a library of books waiting to be devoured.

About All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth Duology #2):

The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All the Stars and Teeth, called “captivating” by Tomi Adeyemi, “Vicious and alluring” by Hafsah Faizal, and “phenomenal” by Adrienne Young. Now author Adalyn Grace is back with more high seas adventure in All the Tides of Fate, this electrifying fantasy, perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

Through blood and sacrifice, Amora Montara has conquered a rebellion and taken her rightful place as queen of Visidia. Now, with the islands in turmoil and the people questioning her authority, Amora cannot allow anyone to see her weaknesses.

No one can know about the curse in her bloodline. No one can know that she’s lost her magic. No one can know the truth about the boy who holds the missing half of her soul.

To save herself and Visidia, Amora embarks on a desperate quest for a mythical artifact that could fix everything—but it comes at a terrible cost. As she tries to balance her loyalty to her people, her crew, and the desires of her heart, Amora will soon discover that the power to rule might destroy her.

Adalyn Grace graduated from Arizona State University when she was nineteen years old. She spent four years working in live theater and acted as the managing editor of a nonprofit newspaper before studying storytelling as an intern on Nickelodeon Animation’s popular series The Legend of Korra. Adalyn splits time between San Diego and Arizona with her bossy cat and two dorky dogs, and spends her days writing full-time while trying to find the best burrito around. All the Stars and Teeth is her debut novel.


About City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place #2):

City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA fantasy, Into the Crooked Place, finds the world on the brink of war and four unlikely allies facing sacrifices they had never imagined.

After the loss of Wesley and the horrifying reveal that Zekia is helping the Kingpin of her own free will, Tavia, Saxony, and Karam flee to Saxony's home to rebuild their rebellion. Meanwhile, trapped in the Kingpin's darkness, Wesley must fight against the deadly magic that invades his mind and find a way back to his friends before it's too late.

As the Kingpin's dark magic spreads and his army conquers Creije, these four unlikely friends have to decide just how far they’ll go—and how much they are willing to sacrifice—to win.


Alexandra Christo decided to write books when she was four and her teacher told her she couldn’t be a fairy. She is the author of To Kill a Kingdom and Into the Crooked Place. When she’s not busy making up stories, she can be found organizing food crawls over London and binge-watching Korean dramas. Alexandra has a BA in Creative Writing and currently lives in England with an abundance of cacti (because they’re the only plants she can keep alive).

About Rising Like a Storm (The Wrath of Ambar#2):

In the concluding installment to the Wrath of Ambar duology from masterful author Tanaz Bhathena, Gul and Cavas must unite their magical forces—and hold onto their growing romance—to save their kingdom from tyranny.

With King Lohar dead and a usurper queen in power, Gul and Cavas face a new tyrannical government that is bent on killing them both. Their roles in King Lohar's death have not gone unnoticed, and the new queen is out for blood. What she doesn't know is that Gul and Cavas have a connection that runs deeper than romance, and together, they just might have the strength and magic to end her for good.

Then a grave mistake ends with Cavas taken prisoner by the government. Gul must train an army of warriors alone. With alliances shifting and the thirst for vengeance growing, the fate of Ambar seems ever more uncertain. It will take every ounce of strength, love, and sacrifice for Gul and Cavas to reach their final goal—and build a more just world than they've ever known.

Tanaz Bhathena writes books for young adults. Her latest novel, Hunted by the Sky, was named a Best Book of the Year by the CBC and USBBY and is the first of a YA fantasy duology set in a world inspired by medieval India, with the sequel Rising like a Storm releasing on June 22, 2021. Her novel, The Beauty of the Moment, won the Nautilus Gold Award for Young Adult Fiction and has also been nominated for the Ontario Library Association’s White Pine Award. Her acclaimed debut, A Girl Like That, was named a Best Book of the Year by numerous outlets including The Globe and MailSeventeen, and The Times of India

Rachel Strolle is the Teen Services Coordinator at a library in the Chicago suburbs. She currently is a books contributor for Buzzfeed, covering YA, middle grade, and more. In addition, she runs social media for YALLFest and YALLWest. Previously, she was a bookseller for five years, where she started their successful Blind Date with a Book program and ran summer camps based off of YA Genres and Divergent, and she wrote for the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog. She has been featured in Bitch magazine, and interviewed as part of a piece for the Wall Street Journal.

Event date: 

Friday, March 12, 2021 - 6:30pm

Event address: 

VIRTUAL

Ticketed Event: 

No
We Free the Stars (Sands of Arawiya #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780374311575
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - January 19th, 2021

A New York Times bestseller!

The second book in the Sands of Arawiya duology by the masterful Hafsah Faizal—the follow-up to the smash New York Times bestselling novel We Hunt the Flame.

Darkness surged in his veins. Power bled from her bones.


We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250250797
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Square Fish - December 1st, 2020

A BuzzFeed Pick for "YA Books You Absolutely Must Read This Spring"
A Bustle's Most Anticipated 2019 YA Release
A Paste Magazine's Top 10 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2019
A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2019
A PopSugar Best YA Book of 2019


All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth Duology #2) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250307811
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Imprint - February 2nd, 2021

The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All the Stars and Teeth, called “captivating” by Tomi Adeyemi, “Vicious and alluring” by Hafsah Faizal, and “phenomenal” by Adrienne Young.


All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth Duology #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250762801
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Square Fish - January 26th, 2021

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Fierce and unrelentingDo yourself a favor and get lost in this beautiful book!” —Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone


City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250318404
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 9th, 2021

City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA fantasy, Into the Crooked Place, finds the world on the brink of war and four unlikely allies facing sacrifices they had never imagined.


Into the Crooked Place Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250620866
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Square Fish - March 9th, 2021

Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy series from Alexandra Christo, the author of To Kill a Kingdom.

The streets of Creije are for the deadly and the dreamers, and four crooks in particular know just how much magic they need up their sleeve to survive.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Rising Like a Storm (The Wrath of Ambar #2) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374313111
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - June 22nd, 2021

In the concluding installment to the Wrath of Ambar duology from masterful author Tanaz Bhathena, Gul and Cavas must unite their magical forces—and hold onto their growing romance—to save their kingdom from tyranny.


Hunted by the Sky (The Wrath of Ambar #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374313098
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - June 23rd, 2020

Exploring identity, class struggles, and high-stakes romance, Tanaz Bhathena's Hunted by the Sky is a gripping adventure set in a world inspired by medieval India.


Display: 

1

Age Group(s): 

Young Adult (13 - 18)
Adult (19 - Boomer)

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.