VIRTUAL: Maria Adelmann in conversation with Kate Bernheimer

Event date: 
Thursday, June 2, 2022 - 7:00pm

Join author Marie Adelmann as she discusses her novel HOW TO BE EATEN with founder and editor of Fairy Tale Review, Kate Bernheimer! Co-hosted with Bank Square Books, this event is free to attend and will be hosted on Zoom Webinar. Register here!

About How to Be Eaten:

This darkly funny and provocative novel reimagines classic fairy tale characters as modern women in a support group for trauma.

In present-day New York City, five women meet in a basement support group to process their traumas. Bernice grapples with the fallout of dating a psychopathic, blue-bearded billionaire. Ruby, once devoured by a wolf, now wears him as a coat. Gretel questions her memory of being held captive in a house made of candy. Ashlee, the winner of a Bachelor-esque dating show, wonders if she really got her promised fairy tale ending. And Raina's love story will shock them all.

Though the women start out wary of one another, judging each other’s stories, gradually they begin to realize that they may have more in common than they supposed . . . What really brought them here? What secrets will they reveal? And is it too late for them to rescue each other?

Dark, edgy, and wickedly funny, this debut for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, Kristen Arnett, and Kelly Link takes our coziest, most beloved childhood stories, exposes them as anti-feminist nightmares, and transforms them into a new kind of myth for grown-up women.

Maria Adelmann is the author of the short story collection Girls of a Certain Age, which explores the many impossible choices of modern girl and womanhood. Her work has been published by Tin House, n+1, Electric Literature, McSweeney's Internet TendencyThe Threepenny Review, the Indiana Review, Epoch, AQR, MQR, and many others, and has been selected by The Best American Short Stories as a distinguished story. You can follow her on Twitter or Instagram @ink176. How to Be Eaten is her first novel.

Kate Bernheimer has been called “one of the living masters of the fairy tale” (Tin House). She is the author of a novel trilogy and the story collections Horse, Flower, Bird and How a Mother Weaned Her Girl from Fairy Tales, and the editor of four anthologies, including the World Fantasy Award winning and bestselling My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales and xo Orpheus: 50 New Myths. She is a Professor of English at the University of Arizona in Tucson, where she teaches fairy tales and creative writing.

 

 

Event address: 
Virtual
Ticketed Event: 
Yes
Books: 
How to Be Eaten: A Novel By Maria Adelmann Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316450843
Availability: Available from Warehouse (minimum 2 days to arrive)
Published: Little, Brown and Company - May 31st, 2022

*BELLETRIST JUNE BOOK CLUB PICK*

Named a Best Book of May by TIME Magazine & Glamour 

This darkly funny and provocative novel reimagines classic fairy tale characters as modern women in a support group for trauma.

In present-day New York City, five women meet in a basement support group to process their traumas.


Fairy Tale Architecture By Andrew Bernheimer, Kate Bernheimer, Ann Patchett (Foreword by) Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781951541286
Availability: Available from Warehouse (minimum 2 days to arrive)
Published: Oro Editions - December 15th, 2020

Fairy Tale Architecture is a ground-breaking book, the first study to bring architects in conversation with fairy tales in breathtaking designs.


Display: 
1
Age Group(s): 
Adult (19 - Boomer)