Reading for Rosie's Place

Join us for a fundraiser for Rosie's Place with authors Juliette Fay, Meredith Goldstein, and Randy Susan Meyers. We'll have author round-robin interviews, tales out of school, giveaway prizes, and sweet and savory treats.

Rosie's Place was founded in 1974 as the first women’s shelter in the United States. Their mission is to provide a safe and nurturing environment that helps poor and homeless women maintain their dignity, seek opportunity and find security in their lives. Today, Rosie’s Place not only provides meals and shelter but also creates answers for 12,000 women a year through wide-ranging support, housing and education services. 

Juliette Fay is the best-selling author of The Tumbling Turner Sisters, chosen as the Costco Pennie’s Book Club Pick, January 2017. Her previous novels include The Shortest Way Home, one of Library Journal‘s Top 5 Best Books of 2012: Women’s Fiction; Deep Down True, short-listed for the Women’s Fiction award by the American Library Association; and Shelter Me, a 2009 Massachusetts Book Award “Must-Read Book” and an Indie Next pick. Juliette received a bachelor’s degree from Boston College and a master’s degree from Harvard University. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband and four children.

Meredith Goldstein is an advice columnist and features reporter for The Boston Globe. She's been writing her column, Love Letters — a daily dispatch of wisdom for the lovelorn — since 2009. In 2018, she releases two books: Can't Help Myself: Lessons & Confessions from a Modern Advice Columnist, a memoir (Grand Central/Hachette/April 3), and Chemistry Lessons (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), a young adult novel about a woman who tries to use science to manipulate her love life. Meredith's debut novel, The Singles — about the only dateless guests at a wedding — was released by Penguin/Plume in 2012. Meredith was born in New Jersey, raised in Maryland, and lives in Boston with a carnival-size cotton candy machine and a David Bowie doll.

Randy Susan Meyers' internationally bestselling novels are informed by years working with families impacted by violence—and a long journey from idolizing bad boys to loving a good man. About her fourth novel, The Widow of Wall Street, Library Journal wrote, “Full of deceit, scandal, and guilt, her novel expertly explores how rising to the top only to hit rock bottom affects a family. The consequences will leave readers reeling.” Her novels have twice been chosen by the Massachusetts Center for the Book, as "Must Read Fiction,” who wrote, “The clear and distinctive voice of Randy Susan Meyers will have you enraptured and wanting more.”  

Event date: 

Tuesday, July 17, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Event address: 

79 Leonard St
Belmont, MA 02478
The Tumbling Turner Sisters: A Book Club Recommendation! Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501145346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - January 3rd, 2017

For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.


Can't Help Myself: Lessons & Confessions from a Modern Advice Columnist Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781455543779
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 3rd, 2018

A disarmingly honest memoir about giving advice when you're not sure what you're doing yourself, by the woman behind The Boston Globe's Love Letters column.


The Widow of Wall Street Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501131363
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press - June 26th, 2018

The seemingly blind love of a wife for her husband as he conquers Wall Street, and her extraordinary, perhaps foolish, loyalty during his precipitous fall, is expertly explored in this "ripped-from-the-headlines story about love, ambition, and forgiveness" (PopSugar)--perfect for fans of the TV show Billions.