Christian's Staff Picks

Bookseller Christian loves these books!

The Great Believers: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735223530
Availability: Available now
Published: Penguin Books - June 4th, 2019

A heart-wrenching narrative about the AIDS epidemic of the 1980's.  Makkai deftly navigates between the 20's, 80's, and present day in this beautiful novel.  Her prose is powerful, evocative, and will inspire you even as it breaks your heart.  


Real Life: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525538882
Availability: Available now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 18th, 2020

Stunningly beautiful and heartbreaking.  Taylor masterfully takes us inside the mind of an introvert dealing with issues of race, sexuality, and the relationship between the phsyical and emotional world.

Wallace is a complex protagonist navigating race, sexuality, and the depth of what we conceal from one another.  This is a staggering debut.


The Tenant Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982127572
Availability: Available now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - January 14th, 2020

When a young woman is found dead in an apartment hallway, Danish detectives Korner and Werner are put on a twisting, brutal case.  Engberg's debut is a welcome addition to the Nordic Noir genre.  Fans of Nesbo, French, and the like will look forward to the next entry in this series.


Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525562771
Availability: Available now
Published: Anchor - March 5th, 2019

I laughed out loud while reading this. A lot. Chuckles, snorts, chortles, you name it. Schnortles? Golby is weird, irreverent, inappropriate, and razor-sharp. He's like David Sedaris' younger, nihilistic cousin. This collection is hilarious.  


My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781594749766
Availability: Available now
Published: Quirk Books - July 11th, 2017

This is an 80's horror movie, but with tons of heart.  It's like John Hughes grew horns.  The story is steeped in nostalgia and as sweet as it is terrifying.  5/5 cans of hairspray.  


The Cabin at the End of the World: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062679116
Availability: Available now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - July 2nd, 2019

The perfect way to give yourself nightmares while on vacation.  Tremblay's work is always terrifying, yet heartfelt.  This one can be devoured in one sitting, just remember to breathe. 


The Adventure Zone: Murder on the Rockport Limited! Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250153715
Availability: Available now
Published: First Second - July 16th, 2019

There are few things as pure as the content the McElroy family produces.  Based on the wildly popular podcast, this second installment of the graphic novel series is even better than the first.  It's hilarious, exciting, and the perfect stepping off point into the world of fantasy.  You'll laugh, laugh some more, and then want to play Dungeons and Dragons.


Conviction Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316528504
Availability: Available now
Published: Mulholland Books - June 18th, 2019

This book is spectacular.  True crime podcasts, haunted pasts, and a terrifying villain add up to create the perfect blend of topical relevance and thrilling twists. Easily devoured in one sitting!


The Chestnut Man: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062895363
Availability: Available now
Published: Harper - September 3rd, 2019

A brutal, gruesome procedural.  Perfectly imperfect detectives hunt one of the more terrifying serial killers you'll come across.  Impossible to put down and even more impossible to sleep afterward.  Nordic noir at its finest.


The Whisper Man: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250317995
Availability: Available now
Published: Celadon Books - August 20th, 2019

A gripping psychological thriller that fills you with dread.  At the heart of this terrifying narrative, North tucks in a heartfelt story about grief, loss, and the love between a father and his son.


A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747671
Availability: Available now
Published: Pantheon - September 17th, 2019

At the center of this monster story is a tale of familial shortcomings, drama, trauma, and heart.  Hamill deftly maneuvers between Lovecraftian terror and dysfunctional family tragedy.   This is a beautifully woven narrative about horrors both real and supernatural, and one of my favorite reads of the year!