Chris's Favorites - Adult Fiction

What do I look for in a good novel? Plot, plot, plot! If there's a strong enough reason to delve into something quieter, less riveting, I'll do it. But I prefer stories that grab me from the first page and don't let go till I'm done.

These are some of my more recent favorites. Hope you like them.

 

The House in the Cerulean Sea By TJ Klune Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250217288
Availability: Available from Warehouse (currently significant shipping delays)
Published: Tor Books - March 17th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, and WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER!
A 2021 Alex Award winner!
The 2021 RUSA Reading List: Fantasy Winner!
An Indie Next Pick!

One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"
One of Book Riot’s “20 Must-Read Feel-Good Fantasies”


A Winter's Promise: Book One of the Mirror Visitor Quartet By Christelle Dabos, Hildegarde Serle (Translator) Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9781609456078
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - May 12th, 2020

Amazon Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book of 2018

One of Entertainment Weekly's 10 Best YA Books of 2018

One of Publishers Weekly's Best YA Book of the Year

A National Indie Bestseller

Longlisted for Irish YA prize Great Reads Award


Dragon Hoops By Gene Luen Yang Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781626720794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - March 17th, 2020

In his latest graphic novel, Dragon Hoops, New York Times bestselling author Gene Luen Yang turns the spotlight on his life, his family, and the high school where he teaches.

Gene understands stories—comic book stories, in particular. Big action. Bigger thrills. And the hero always wins.


The Underground Railroad: A Novel By Colson Whitehead Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780345804327
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - January 30th, 2018

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, this #1 New York Times bestseller chronicles a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. The basis for the acclaimed original Amazon Prime Video series directed by Barry Jenkins.


A Darker Shade of Magic: A Novel (Shades of Magic #1) By V. E. Schwab Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765376466
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - January 19th, 2016

A Darker Shade of Magic, from #1 New York Times bestselling author V.E. Schwab

Kell is one of the last Antarimagicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black.


The Left-Handed Booksellers of London By Garth Nix Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062683250
Availability: Available from Warehouse (currently significant shipping delays)
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 22nd, 2020

A girl’s quest to find her father leads her to an extended family of magical fighting booksellers who police the mythical Old World of England when it intrudes on the modern world. From the bestselling master of teen fantasy, Garth Nix.


The Tumbling Turner Sisters: A Book Club Recommendation! By Juliette Fay Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501145346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - January 3rd, 2017

For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from “one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal).


Swing Time By Zadie Smith Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594203985
Availability: Available from Warehouse (currently significant shipping delays)
Published: Penguin Press - November 15th, 2016

“Smith’s thrilling cultural insights never overshadow the wholeness of her characters, who are so keenly observed that one feels witness to their lives.” —O, The Oprah Magazine

“A sweeping meditation on art, race, and identity that may be [Smith’s] most ambitious work yet.” —Esquire


The Kid: A Novel By Ron Hansen Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501129759
Availability: Temporarily Out of Stock
Published: Scribner - October 4th, 2016

“A marvelous journey into both history and imagination…A perfectly compelling and fast-paced story” (San Francisco Chronicle) from Ron Hansen about an iconic American criminal of the old West: legendary outlaw, Billy the Kid.

Born Henry McCarty, Billy the Kid was a diminutive, charming, blond-haired young man who, growing up in New York, Kansas, and later New Mexic


All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel By Anthony Doerr Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781476746586
Availability: Available from Warehouse (currently significant shipping delays)
Published: Scribner - May 6th, 2014

*Winner of the Pulitzer Prize* A New York Times Book Review Top Ten Book* A National Book Award Finalist*

From Anthony Doerr, the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning author of Cloud Cuckoo Land, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to s


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel By Gabrielle Zevin Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781616204518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - December 2nd, 2014

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE
A New York Times Bestseller

“Funny, tender, and moving, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry reminds us all exactly why we read and why we love.” —Library Journal, starred review


A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be.


Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch #1) By Ann Leckie Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316246620
Availability: Available from Warehouse (currently significant shipping delays)
Published: Orbit - October 1st, 2013

WINNER OF THE HUGO, NEBULA, AND ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARDS

The record-breaking debut novel that won every major science fiction award, Ancillary Justice is Ann Leckie's powerful and thought provoking story of a warship trapped in a human body and her search for revenge. A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey.


Ready Player One: A Novel By Ernest Cline Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780307887443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - June 5th, 2012

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Now a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg.


Red Rising (Red Rising Series #1) By Pierce Brown Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345539809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 15th, 2014

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Pierce Brown’s relentlessly entertaining debut channels the excitement of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.

Red Rising ascends above a crowded dys­topian field.”—USA Today