Bookworms Book Club

Welcome to Bookworms Book Club!


Belmont Bookworms Meets August 8 at 1pm and then on  August 12 at 7pm on Zoom Meg Medina will be  in conversation with  Sarah Marie Jette

Belmont Bookworms, our children’s book club, meets one Saturday each month from September – June at 12:00 noon in a cozy spot in our 2nd floor children’s section. We read and discuss middle-grade (ages 8 – 12) fiction and graphic novels. Sometimes we do a fun craft activity related to the book, and end with pizza or a snack. All are welcome—no preregistration required. Sarah Marie Jette, a local children’s book author and 4th-grade teacher, facilitates the book club.

 

Previous Months' Selections:

Spies: Noor Inayat Khan Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781937133375
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Choose Your Own Adventure - May 1st, 2020

YOU are the world's first Spy Princess, Noor Inayat Khan. Although you grew up in luxury with all of the best that your American mother and Sufi father could offer, you had dreams of becoming a children's author and helping people all over the world who you met in your global travels. World War II changed your life, but also showed the world you were one of the bravest women who ever lived.


Mañanaland Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338157864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - March 3rd, 2020

Newbery Honoree Pam Muñoz Ryan weaves an entrancing tale of courage and self-discovery.

"Uniquely magical...Timely and timeless." -- New York Times

* "This tightly packed, powerful fantasy contains resonant truths." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Another unforgettable work from a master storyteller." -- Booklist, starred review


The First Rule of Punk Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780425290422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - July 17th, 2018

A 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book

The First Rule of Punk
 is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching.
 


Dactyl Hill Squad (Dactyl Hill Squad #1) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781338268829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - April 30th, 2019

"An unforgettable historical, high-octane adventure." -- Dav Pilkey, author-illustrator of the Dog Man series


Pie in the Sky Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250314109
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - May 14th, 2019

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year!
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year!
An NPR Best Book of the Year!


Guts Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545852500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - September 17th, 2019

A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile, Sisters, Drama, and Ghosts!


Front Desk (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338157826
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

Winner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!

* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Mia Tang has a lot of secrets.


Sanity & Tallulah Cover Image
By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368022804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

Sanity Jones and Tallulah Vega are best friends on Wilnick, the dilapidated space station they call home at the end of the galaxy. So naturally, when gifted scientist Sanity uses her lab skills and energy allowance to create a definitely-illegal-but-impossibly-cute three-headed kitten, she has to show Tallulah.


The Color of My Words Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780064472043
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: HarperCollins - April 23rd, 2019

Américas Award Winner

“An achingly beautiful story.”—Kirkus (starred review) “Eloquent.”—Booklist (starred review) “Lovely and lyrical.”—School Library Journal


Finding Mighty Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781419734793
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Paperbacks - March 5th, 2019

Along the train lines north of New York City, 12-year-old neighbors Myla and Peter search for the link between Myla’s necklace and the disappearance of Peter’s brother, Randall. Thrown into a world of parkour, graffiti, and diamond smuggling, Myla and Peter encounter a band of thugs who are after the same thing as Randall.


New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature! 


One Crazy Summer Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060760908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 27th, 2011

In this Newbery Honor novel, New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of three sisters who travel to Oakland, California, in 1968 to meet the mother who abandoned them. A strong option for summer reading—take this book along on a family road trip or enjoy it at home.


What the Wind Can Tell You Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781944762414
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Islandport Press - May 15th, 2018

Isabelle is fascinated by wind. And this year, she's determined to win the middle school science fair with her wind machine. She's just as determined to have her brother, Julian, who suffers from a severe form of epilepsy and is confined to a wheelchair, serve as her assistant. But after Julian has a grand seizure, everything changes.


The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780399539145
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - September 11th, 2018

A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses.


Pablo and Birdy Cover Image
By Alison McGhee, Ana Juan (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781481470278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 21st, 2018

A Parent’s Choice Award Gold Member Winner

A boy who drifted into the seaside town of Isla as a baby searches for answers about where he and his parrot came from in this “memorable, fantastical tale” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) from New York Times bestselling author Alison McGhee.

The seaside town of Isla has many stories, the most notable