New Kid Lib/E (Compact Disc)

New Kid Lib/E Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Robin Miles (Read by), Rebecca Soler (Read by)
Email or call for price
Special Order Only

IF YOU ARE PRE-ORDERING FOR A SCHOOL EVENT, PLEASE INCLUDE THE NAME OF YOUR CHILD'S SCHOOL IN THE NOTES SECTION!

 

A great school story, and relatable for any kid, but with really spot-on attention to how our differences can be magnified by our peers and our elders, especially in middle school.  Friendship and humor make this such a well rounded narrative that keeps this lighter, and more than an issues book. This is going to be a great new addition for graphic novel lovers.

— Tildy

This is a must read for all kids and adults. Jordan is an 11 year old kid, who commutes to a fancy private school. He has to figure out how to fit in with his old neighborhood as well as his new school, as the new kid dealing with micro aggressions and assumptions. In addition, the drawings are so evocative as to what Jordan is experiencing.

— Audrey H.

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List


New Kid tackles diversity and inclusion with humor and charm. Jordan Banks wants to go to art school, but his mother sends him to Riverdale, a predominantly white private school, to increase his opportunities. Jordan teams up with Liam and Drew and along the way starts to enjoy himself. Craft uses pop culture parody references to start each chapter and includes drawings by Jordan throughout the book. The graphic novel format is perfect for a kid who loves art and also serves to take the story deeper as the pictures add another layer. Highly recommended for new kids and old ones!”
— Kathy Burnette, The Brain Lair, South Bend, IN

Description


An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982609030
ISBN-10: 1982609036
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Language: English