The Wildlands Lib/E (Compact Disc)

The Wildlands Lib/E Cover Image
By Abby Geni, Carol Monda (Read by)
Currently Unavailable
Unavailable

A strange literary thriller for fans of Karen Joy Fowler's We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, The Wildlands is an exploration of the line between the human and animal kingdoms. Four children orphaned after their father is killed in a to Oklahoma tornado navigate attention and grief but ultimately this is 9-year-old Cora's story of her crosscountry trip in the thrall of her brother Tucker who is determined to wage war on humanity through increasingly violent acts of violence and terrorism.

— Susan

Description


From the award-winning author of The Lightkeepers comes a page-turning new novel that explores the bond between siblings and the animal instincts that threaten to destroy them.

When a Category 5 tornado ravaged Mercy, Oklahoma, no family in the small town lost more than the McClouds. Their home and farm were instantly demolished, and orphaned siblings Darlene, Jane, and Cora made media headlines. This relentless national attention and the tornado's aftermath caused great tension with their brother, Tucker, who soon abandoned his sisters and disappeared.

On the three-year anniversary of the tornado, a cosmetics factory outside of Mercy is bombed, and the lab animals trapped within are released. Tucker reappears, injured from the blast, and seeks the help of nine-year-old Cora. Caught up in the thrall of her charismatic brother, whom she has desperately missed, Cora agrees to accompany Tucker on a cross-country mission to make war on human civilization.

Cora becomes her brother's unwitting accomplice, taking on a new identity while engaging in acts of escalating violence. Darlene works with Mercy police to find her siblings, leading to an unexpected showdown at a zoo in Southern California. The Wildlands is another remarkable literary thriller from critically acclaimed writer Abby Geni, one that examines what happens when one family becomes trapped in the tenuous space between the human and animal worlds.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982527594
ISBN-10: 1982527595
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Language: English

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.