Sky Ropes (Hardcover)

Sky Ropes By Sondra Soderborg Cover Image

Sky Ropes (Hardcover)

$17.99


Available from Warehouse
For fans of The War That Saved My Life and Wolf Hollow, this fast-paced and unforgettable story follows one girl's journey to overcome her trauma, discover what friendship really means, and learn that being brave is not always about being fearless.
 

Breanna is certain of a few things: She is strong, tough, and the greatest prankster in her entire district. She doesn't need to meet new people, not when she already has amazing friends like Pascale and Niraj.
And she WILL NOT be ascending Sky Ropes—the highest ropes course in the state—at her school's required teambuilding camp. No, she's not afraid of heights!

Breanna is determined to get through the week of camp as quickly as possible, while planning the most epic prank and avoiding even thinking of the Sky Ropes. And as the week progresses, Breanna can't help loving her time in nature, fostering a rivalry with the other competitive softball pitcher, and bonding with the other kids. But as much as she likes to pretend that she isn't afraid of anything, Breanna knows that, come Friday, she will have to face the Sky Ropes—and with it, the fear deeply tied to memories of her father's abuse that she has been fighting to push away.
 
Emotionally rich and tumultuously paced, Sondra Soderborg's debut novel is a story about opening yourself up to new possibilities, understanding what it means to be a true friend, encountering the most difficult truths about your own self, and finding self-acceptance within darkness.
 

COMPELLING PORTRAIT OF ONE GIRL’S RESILIENCE AND STRENGTH: With poignant storytelling and a genuine voice, Sondra Soderborg conveys a main character with compelling struggles. Readers will relate to Breanna's internal battles while cheering for her during tense moments and reflecting on her moments of clarity through the end.
 
LOVEABLE CHARACTERS: Readers will love the diverse array of characters each with their own struggles. Personalities clash and feelings overlap in a way that is true to the pre-teen experience. It's a wonderfully nuanced portrayal of tweens that real kids will recognize right away, and that will trigger long-forgotten memories for anyone lucky enough to have survived camp.

TIMELESS STORY: With a classic summer camp setting and fun characters, this book offers an engaging narrative kids will enjoy and evokes a sense of nostalgia parents and teachers will love recommending.

POWERFUL AND RELEVANT: The abuse the main character undergoes at home is explored here subtly and authentically, steeped in the first-hand witnessing the author has done in her time as a child advocate and prison teacher.
 
AUTHENTIC TO THE CORE: In the tradition of Drama or Real Friends, this book makes you want to keep turning page after page. Readers of all ages will respond to the authenticity running under the fast-paced plot, making this a novel that will be meaningful for a lot of kids.

Perfect for:
  • Readers who love strong characters
  • Fans of action and adventure stories, books about friendship, and books set at camp
  • Fans of literary books for kids
  • Parents and caregivers seeking resources to help kids talk about anxiety, abuse, and fear
  • Librarians and educators looking for subtle issue books
  • Fans of Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Rebecca Stead, and Lauren Wolk
Sondra Soderborg is a former practicing attorney, child advocate, and teacher at both a high school and a prison. She lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan. This is her first book.
Product Details ISBN: 9781797215648
ISBN-10: 1797215647
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: July 11th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English