The Turning (MP3 CD)

The Turning Cover Image
Currently Unavailable
Unavailable

************** Between the Lines Review **************

The Turning is about a boy named Aran who is a selkie--a human who can turn into a seal. Sadly, he has not got a pelt--the item that turns a human selkie into a seal. Aran's goal is to find his pelt so he can live with his family in the water and have fun with his clan. I really liked this book because it is packed with action but also has a sentimental part to it. Most books that aim to be poetic end up being boring. The Turning is a great example of an exciting poetic book. I highly recommend this book. If you get it, I hope you have a great time reading it.

— Joshua, age 11

Description


Does he belong to the land or to the sea?

Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Mu oz Ryan's Echo will be transported to the place where the water and land meet in this exquisitely crafted coming-of-age tale about a selkie boy.

Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. He was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. What if his pelt never comes? Does the Moon even see him? Is he putting his clan at risk?

When his mother undertakes a journey to the far north to seek help, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders--and more dangers--than Aran could have ever imagined. Soon Aran will be forced to decide: will he fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea?



Product Details
ISBN: 9781538551585
ISBN-10: 1538551586
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: July 24th, 2018
Language: English

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.