The Tenant (Compact Disc)

The Tenant Cover Image

The Tenant (Compact Disc)

By Katrine Engberg, Tara Chace (Translator), Graeme Malcolm (Read by)

$39.99


Currently Unavailable

Great Reads


“Truth is stranger than fiction for two detectives and an aspiring author, characters featured in Katrine Engberg’s new novel, The Tenant. No one is quite who we think they are, so we’re right there with police detectives Jeppe Korner and Anette Werner as they try to unravel the multitude of threads connecting victims, possible suspects, and witnesses. Terror and thrills abound as Engberg keeps all of us guessing right up to the end. I didn’t breathe a sigh of relief until the last page.”
— Eileen McGervey, One More Page Books, Arlington, VA

When a young woman is found dead in an apartment hallway, Danish detectives Korner and Werner are put on a twisting, brutal case.  Engberg's debut is a welcome addition to the Nordic Noir genre.  Fans of Nesbo, French, and the like will look forward to the next entry in this series.

— Christian

An electrifying work of literary suspense from international bestselling author Katrine Engberg, this stunning debut introduces two police detectives struggling to solve a shocking murder and stop a killer hell-bent on revenge. When a young woman is discovered brutally murdered in her own apartment, with an intricate pattern of lines carved into her face, Copenhagen police detectives Jeppe Korner and Anette Werner are assigned to the case. In short order, they establish a link between the victim, Julie Stender, and her landlady, Esther de Laurenti, who's a bit too fond of drink and the host of raucous dinner parties with her artist friends. Esther also turns out to be a budding novelist--and when Julie turns up as a murder victim in the still-unfinished mystery she's writing, the link between fiction and real life grows both more urgent and more dangerous. But Esther's role in this twisted scenario is not quite as clear as it first seems. Is she the culprit--or just another victim, trapped in a twisted game of vengeance? Anette and Jeppe must dig more deeply into the two women's pasts to discover the identity of the brutal puppet-master pulling the strings in this electrifying literary thriller. Hailed as "inconceivably thrilling" (Fyens Stiftstidende, Denmark), The Tenant is a work of stunning originality that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Product Details ISBN: 9781508299417
ISBN-10: 1508299412
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: January 14th, 2020
Language: English