Little Comfort (A Hester Thursby Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

Little Comfort (A Hester Thursby Mystery #1) Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now
7 on hand, as of Nov 20 4:42am
(Mystery & Detective)

Description


In a brilliantly twisted debut set among Boston’s elite, Edwin Hill introduces unforgettable sleuth Hester Thursby—and a missing persons case that uncovers a trail of vicious murder . . .
 
Harvard librarian Hester Thursby knows that even in the digital age, people still need help finding things. Using her research skills, Hester runs a side business tracking down the lost. Usually, she’s hired to find long-ago prom dates or to reunite adopted children and birth parents. Her new case is finding the handsome and charismatic Sam Blaine.
 
Sam has no desire to be found. As a teenager, he fled his small New Hampshire town with his friend, Gabe, after a haunting incident. For a dozen years, Sam and Gabe have traveled the country, reinventing themselves as they move from one mark to another. Sam has learned how trusting wealthy people can be—especially the lonely ones—as he expertly manipulates his way into their lives and homes.  In Wendy Richards, the beautiful, fabulously rich daughter of one of Boston’s most influential families, he’s found the perfect way to infiltrate the milieu in which he knows he belongs—a world of Brooks Brothers suits, Nantucket summers, and effortless glamour.
 
As Hester’s investigation closes in on their brutal truth, the bond between Sam and Gabe is tested and Hester unknowingly jeopardizes her own safety. While Gabe has pinned all his desperate hopes of a normal life on Hester, Sam wants her out of the way for good. And Gabe has always done what 
Sam asks . . .

About the Author


Edwin Hill has written for the LA Review of BooksThe Life SentencePublishers Weekly, and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. He is the vice president and editorial director for Bedford/St. Martin's, a division of Macmillan. He received a bachelor's degree from Wesleyan University and an MFA from Emerson College. He lives in Boston with his partner, Michael, and their dog, Edith Ann.

Praise For…


Harvard librarian Hester Thursby, the heroine of Hill’s well-crafted, extremely promising debut and series launch, runs a side business locating lost people. She’s hired by Lila Blaine to find her brother, Sam, who ran away from their home in New Hampshire 12 years earlier, when he was 14, with his friend Gabe DiPursio. Lila says she wants to sell a piece of lakefront property called Little Comfort and split the proceeds with Sam. Hester soon discovers that Sam is now living in Boston under an alias and has insinuated himself into the life of wealthy socialite Wendy Richards, while Gabe is supporting them both as a freelance programmer. When someone at a party recognizes Sam, Sam decides it’s time to tie up loose ends and move on. Meanwhile, Hester has befriended lonely Gabe, who has built a homey domestic fantasy around her, but Sam views Hester as an obstacle and expects Gabe to help get her out of the way. An increasingly tense plot and striking characters—in particular, compassionate, conflicted, loving Hester—make this a standout. —Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW
 
“Fast-paced and riveting . . . takes off from the opening pages and never lets up. Don’t miss this
can’t-put-down debut.”
—Carla Neggers, New York Times bestselling author
 
“In his compelling debut, Edwin Hill spins layer upon layer of intrigue as Hester Thursby, in the business of finding people who don’t want to be found, takes on a job that turns out to be far more surprising and dangerous than she bargained for. This smart, complex, and suspenseful New England thriller will keep you turning pages far into the night.”
—Jessica Treadway, author of Lacy Eye and How Will I Know You?
 
“Compellingly plotted and compulsively readable, Little Comfort will leave you a little uncomfortable in the best of ways. Hester Thursby, its powerhouse protagonist, is tough, intriguingly flawed and complex. Edwin Hill’s first effort is certain to be among the year’s best debuts.”
—John Keyse-Walker, author of Beach, Breeze, Bloodshed

“A chilling mix of envy, deceit, and murder. Everyone is lying about something in this tense, stylish debut novel. . . . [It] will have you frantically turning pages until the final, breathless climax.”
—Joanna Schaffhausen, author of The Vanishing Season
 
Little Comfort isn’t just the arrival of a fantastic new book, but also marks the emergence of a spectacular writer to watch. This story had me hooked from the first chapter, and my nails bitten to the nub before I was halfway through. Watch out! Little Comfort delivers just what the title promises.”
—Bracken MacLeod, author of Stranded and 13 Views of the Suicide Woods
 
“Spectacular . . . this book is deftly crafted and its terrifying conclusion stayed with me long after I finished reading. Don’t miss this one!”
—Maggie Barbieri, author of Once Upon a Lie

"A dark but compassionate psychological-thriller debut with great appeal for fans of Ruth Ware and Cornelia Read." 
Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496715906
ISBN-10: 149671590X
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: August 28th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Hester Thursby Mystery