My Daddy Is a Cowboy: A Picture Book (Hardcover)

My Daddy Is a Cowboy: A Picture Book By Stephanie Seales, C. G. Esperanza (Illustrator) Cover Image

My Daddy Is a Cowboy: A Picture Book (Hardcover)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now
8 on hand, as of Jul 14 12:08am
(JUVPIC-STAFF)
A young girl and her father share an early morning horseback ride around their city in My Daddy Is a Cowboy, a picture book celebration of “just-us time,” perfect for fans of My Papi Has a Motocycle.
 
In the early hours before dawn, a young girl and her father greet their horses and ride together through the waking city streets. As they trot along, Daddy tells cowboy stories filled with fun and community, friendship, discovery, and pride.

Seeing her city from a new vantage point and feeling seen in a new way, the child discovers that she too is a cowboy—strong and confident in who she is.
 
Thoughtfully and lyrically written by debut author Stephanie Seales, with vibrant illustrations from award-winning artist C. G. Esperanza, this beautiful picture book is a celebration of Black joy, outdoor play, and quality time spent between child and parent.

Tall. High as the clouds.
Strong as a horse’s back.
Like a cowboy.
C. G. Esperanza is the second of six cool kids. The South Bronx is where he first opened his eyelids. A dope land shrouded in bright-colored decay, the home of graffiti and hip-hop DJs! He paints funky elephants! Bodegas, too! Mixed with this wonder is some whimsical truth. Esperanza has a voice that is seldom heard. A fusion of jazz, distorted guitars, and chirping birds. Esperanza is also the author-illustrator of Red, Yellow, Blue (and a Dash of White, Too!). He lives in the Bronx.
Product Details ISBN: 9781419760815
ISBN-10: 1419760815
Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 48
Language: English
***STARRED REVIEW***
"[Q]uiet yet energetic...Vibrant colors and abstract design embellishments convey the immense pleasure and freedom felt by both father and child as they connect over horseback riding. A magical celebration of family, freedom, and Black joy."
— Kirkus Reviews

***STARRED REVIEW***
"Together, the creators expertly capture the open feel of early morning alongside the beauty of one-on-one time in this visually immersive story about a child whose 'Daddy is a cowboy.... And so am I.' ” 
— Publishers Weekly

***STARRED REVIEW***
"A gorgeous book that celebrates Black urban horsemanship...This book hits all the high points of Black cowboy culture and will be a must-have on the shelf for all budding enthusiasts eager to see themselves represented authentically and beautifully. Giddyup!"
— BookPage

***STARRED REVIEW***
"Saddle up for the absolute joyride of this exuberant father-daughter adventure…[A] seamless melding of lyrical text and high-spirited full-bleed illustrations…A blue-ribbon pick for both story time and home use, sure to delight cowboys both real and imagined."
— Booklist