Anzu the Great Kaiju (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Anzu the Great Kaiju Cover Image

Anzu the Great Kaiju (Hardcover)

By Benson Shum, Benson Shum (Illustrator)

$18.99


Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now

An adorable picture book about a tiny monster with a big heart trying to follow in his family's footsteps.

All great Kaiju are born with a super power to strike fear in the heart of the city.
But Anzu is different.
Instead of mayhem, he likes May flowers.
Instead of striking fear, he prefers to be sincere.
Can Anzu find a way to make his family proud and stay true to his kind self?

From Disney animator and illustrator Bensom Shum comes an adorable and heartwarming picture book about making your own way and the unexpected power of gentleness—perfect for fans of Ferdinand the Bull.

Benson Shum is a children's book author and illustrator who has illustrated a number of picture books like Adam Lehrhaupt's Sloth Went and Jennifer Sattler's Go to Sheep. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he was a part of such films as Frozen, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, Moana, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Frozen II, and Raya and the Last Dragon. Originally from Vancouver, BC, Benson now lives in sunny southern California.

Benson Shum is a children's book author and illustrator who has illustrated a number of picture books like Adam Lehrhaupt's Sloth Went and Jennifer Sattler's Go to Sheep. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he was a part of such films as Frozen, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, Moana, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Frozen II, and Raya and the Last Dragon. Originally from Vancouver, BC, Benson now lives in sunny southern California.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250776129
ISBN-10: 1250776120
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: January 11th, 2022
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Anzu the Great Kaiju
"Shum’s experience as an animator for Walt Disney Animation Studios on films like Big Hero 6 and Raya and the Last Dragon is evident in the way he storyboards the narrative, pulls readers along with cinematic energy, and celebrates Japanese aesthetics—with everything from bonsai trees to golden picture frames to tiny creatures that look like adorable walking dumplings. He also makes Japanese culture integral to the well-told, wholly original tale, which proves humorous, heartfelt, and as sweet as the flowers Anzu conjures." —Booklist