Ill-Fated Fortune: A Magical Fortune Cookie Novel (Mass Market)

Ill-Fated Fortune: A Magical Fortune Cookie Novel By Jennifer J. Chow Cover Image

Ill-Fated Fortune: A Magical Fortune Cookie Novel (Mass Market)

$9.99


Available from Warehouse

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Magical Fortune Cookie series.

The first in the heart-warming and deliciously mysterious Magical Fortune Cookie series from Lefty Award-nominee Jennifer J. Chow.

Felicity Jin grew up literally hanging onto Mom’s apron strings in their magical bakery in the quaint town of Pixie, California. Her mother’s enchanted baked goods, including puffy pineapple buns and creamy egg tarts, bring instant joy to all who consume them. Felicity has always been hesitant in the kitchen herself after many failed attempts, but a takeout meal gone wrong inspires her to craft some handmade fortune cookies.

They become so popular that Felicity runs out of generic fortunes and starts making her own personalized predictions. When one customer’s ill-fated fortune results in his murder, Felicity’s suspiciously specific fortune has the police focusing on her as the main culprit. Now Felicity must find a way to turn her luck around and get cleared from suspicion.

JENNIFER J. CHOW writes cozies filled with hope and heritage. She is an Agatha, Anthony, and Lefty Award-nominated author. Most recently, she was nominated for the Lilian Jackson Braun Award. Her newest series is the Magical Fortune Cookie mysteries; the first book is Ill-Fated Fortune. Jennifer also writes the L.A. Night Market mysteries. The first in the series, Death by Bubble Tea, was reviewed by the New York Times, featured in Woman’s World, and hit the SoCal Indie Bestseller List. Jennifer currently serves as the immediate past president on the board of Sisters in Crime and blogs at chicksonthecase.com. She is an active member of Crime Writers of Color and Mystery Writers of America. Connect with her online and sign up for her newsletter at jenniferjchow.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250323033
ISBN-10: 1250323037
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: February 20th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Magical Fortune Cookie

Praise for Ill-Fated Fortune and Jennifer J. Chow:

“A spellbinding whodunit unfolds in the first installment of Jennifer J. Chow’s Magical Fortune Cookie series.” —Woman's World

"This first in a new series featuring a likable Chinese American heroine will appeal to fans of Jenn McKinlay, Eve Calder, or Joanne Fluke." —Booklist

"Nobody writes cozy mysteries quite like Jennifer J. Chow. No matter what is going wrong in my life, I know that all I need to do for some comfort is turn to one of Chow's books. Chow has done it again with Ill-Fated Fortune. I did not want to leave Felicity's side even for a moment, and you won't want to either." —Jesse Q. Sutanto, author of Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers

"A magical new culinary cozy mystery series filled with family, friendship, and heart—and a pinch of real magic." —Gigi Pandian, USA Today bestselling author of the Secret Staircase Mysteries on Ill-Fated Fortune

"Who doesn’t love a magical bakery? Readers will enjoy following Felicity Jin, her friends, and her mother in Ill-Fated Fortune. Check your fortune: I believe it will tell you to read this book." —Emmeline Duncan, author of the Ground Rules Mystery series

Ill-Fated Fortune expertly combines magic and murder. This story is an absolute treat that you’ll want to binge read.” —Olivia Matthews, author of the Spice Isle Bakery Mysteries

"Combine one magical baker with a ruthless baking rival. Add a custom-made fortune that seemingly predicts death and mix well. Toss in a skeptical police officer and a well-crafted cast of characters with plenty of delightful cultural touches and you have a well-baked culinary cozy mystery. Ill-Fated Fortune is a deliciously magical culinary cozy that will leave you hungry for the next delectable installment in this new series by Jennifer J. Chow." —Valerie Burns, Agatha, Anthony, Edgar, and Next Generation Award finalist

"Charming isn't adequate to describe Jennifer J. Chow's series debut, Ill-Fated Fortune. I was immediately pulled into the story by the powerful first line and an instant, deep connection to the narrator. There is real magic in this story—and not just from the baking skills of Felicity and her mom. Along with the terrific writing, I was treated (and it was nearly as good as those fortune cookies sound) to a glimpse into a culture and place that I didn't know. This book contains so many elements readers will love. Plus a fun mystery. Pre-order this right away! A new series is about to be born." —Carolyn Haines, USA Today bestselling author of the Sara Booth Delaney series

“Chow smoothly mixes intrigue, romance, and humor. Cozy fans will have fun.”—Publishers Weekly

“Yale and Celine’s growing loyalty to each other, coupled with the warmth of Chow’s prose, adds extra depth, just like the tapioca balls nestled in a glass of bubble tea.”—New York Times Book Review on Death by Bubble Tea

“I laughed out loud more than once reading Mimi Lee Gets a Clue, the first book in the new Sassy Cat mystery series. Sharp writing, a main character I’d happily be friends with, and a talking cat. What more could a reader want?”—Sofie Kelly, New York Times bestselling author of the Magical Cats Mysteries

“Mix an intrepid dog groomer with a sarcastic cat, add a generous dose of Southern California, sprinkle with murder, and you get a cozy mystery that’s bound to please.” —Laurie Cass, author of the Bookmobile Cat Mysteries on the Sassy Cat Mysteries

“Delicious treats, family drama, and a bit of murder are the order of the day for Yale Yee, the engaging and multilayered lead in Death by Bubble Tea. A fantastic series starter, I can’t wait to see what else is in store for the Yee family and the Eastwood Village Night Market regulars. Don’t forget to try the recipes at the end!”—Mia P. Manansala, author of Arsenic and Adobo

“The second installment of Chow’s cozy mystery series set at a California market, Hot Pot Murder is as charming and delightful as the first…Spending time with these characters is a treat, but—full warning—this book will make you hungry.”—Parade

“Full of humor, memorable characters, and lovable animals, this fastpaced story kept me entertained from beginning to end. Add in a mystery that keeps you wondering, and Chow’s new series becomes the perfect pick for cozy fans.”—Buzzfeed on the Sassy Cat Mysteries

“A frothy read for any pet-lover who enjoys a little mystery and romance.”—Criminal Element on the Sassy Cat Mysteries