Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Sep 25 7:45am
(Kids Biology)

Staff Reviews


tkála-Šá. Jovita Idár. Mabel Ping-Hua Lee. Mary Church Terrell. Ida B. Wells. These are among the many bold, brave, BIPOC women who get a seat at the table in this inclusive “badass” history of the fight for women’s suffrage. Impeccably researched, beautifully illustrated, this fascinating book is a wonderful way to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19thAmendment, to honor the shoulders we stand on, and to inspire us to finish the fight.  And check out on Youtube the New York Times' fantastic virtual play, The Heroes of the Suffrage Movement | Finish the Fight, based on the book. 

— Rhonda

Zitkála-Šá. Jovita Idár. Mabel Ping-Hua Lee. Mary Church Terrell. Ida B. Wells. These are among the many bold, brave, BIPOC women who get a seat at the table in this inclusive “badass” history of the fight for women’s suffrage. Impeccably researched, beautifully illustrated, this fascinating book is a wonderful way to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19thAmendment, to honor the shoulders we stand on, and to inspire us to finish the fight.  And check out on Youtube the New York Times' fantastic virtual play, The Heroes of the Suffrage Movement | Finish the Fight, based on the book. 

— Rhonda

Description


New York Times bestseller! 

Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told.

Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage.

FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.
 

About the Author


Veronica Chambers is the editor of Past Tense at The New York Times. She recently created the anthology “The Meaning of Michelle,” a collection by 16 writers celebrating the former first lady, and edited the upcoming “Queen Bey: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter.” She is a prolific author, best known for her critically acclaimed memoir, Mama's Girl. Born in Panama and raised in Brooklyn, she writes often about her Afro-Latina heritage. She speaks, reads, and writes Spanish, but she is truly fluent in Spanglish. She is currently a JSK Knight fellow at Stanford University. www.veronicachambers.com, Twitter: @vvchambers, Instagram: @vvchambers

Praise For…


★ "This informative book takes a refreshingly inclusive approach to the history of women’s voting rights in the United States...it widens the spotlight, profiling leaders who have represented minorities and describing the particular challenges they have faced as they worked to promote women’s suffrage." —Booklist, STARRED review


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358408307
ISBN-10: 035840830X
Publisher: Versify
Publication Date: August 18th, 2020
Pages: 144

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter

It's easy! Just input your email address to stay connected.

Email Address  *

* indicates required    
                      
           
 

Donate Now