I Always Loved You (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
I Always Loved You Cover Image
List Price: $16.00
Our Price: $12.80
(Save: $3.20 20%)
Available Now
4 on hand, as of Jun 24 8:40am
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


A fictionalization of the life and times of painter Mary Cassatt, and her relationship with Edgar Degas.  Set in Paris in the late 1800s, the novel explores the work of, and relationships between, the Impressionist artists at the time, including Monet, Manet, Renoir, and Berthe Morisot.  A fun look at the city, the art, and the brilliant but quirky artists.
 

— Stacey

Description


A story of Mary Cassatt and Edgar Degas, from the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter

Robin Oliveira's latest novel, Winter Sisters, will be available in February from Viking

The young Mary Cassatt never thought moving to Paris after the Civil War to be an artist was going to be easy, but when, after a decade of work, her submission to the Paris Salon is rejected, Mary's fierce determination wavers. Her father is begging her to return to Philadelphia to find a husband before it is too late, her sister Lydia is falling mysteriously ill, and worse, Mary is beginning to doubt herself. Then one evening a friend introduces her to Edgar Degas and her life changes forever. Years later she will learn that he had begged for the introduction, but in that moment their meeting seems a miracle. So begins the defining period of her life and the most tempestuous of relationships.

In I Always Loved You, Robin Oliveira brilliantly re-creates the irresistible world of Belle poque Paris, writing with grace and uncommon insight into the passion and foibles of the human heart.

For readers of The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan.

About the Author


Robin Oliveira is the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter. She holds a BA in Russian and studied at the Pushkin Language Institute in Moscow. She received an MFA in writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts and is also a registered nurse, specializing in critical care. She lives in Seattle, Washington.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143126102
ISBN-10: 0143126105
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: March 31st, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English