Left: A Love Story (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Left: A Love Story Cover Image
List Price: $15.99
Our Price: $12.79
(Save: $3.20 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Sep 18 5:30am
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


Left begins with a love story between the main character, Fay, and an apartment building on the Upper West Side of NY.  Strange as this sounds, one comes to realize that this love story is an escape fantasy from Fay’s own fraught love story with her husband, Paul, who has dementia.  Through Paul’s decline, Fay’s love for him endures, and the fierceness of this love comes through loud and strong.  I read this compelling novel in one sitting. 

— Stacey

Description


In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City’s Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia—perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way…

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding—but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay’s worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband—her rock, her love, her everything—is succumbing to the ravages of dementia. 

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay’s invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can’t accept. 

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life’s aching uncertainties—and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

 

About the Author


 Mary Hogan is the bestselling author of Two Sisters and the historical novel, The Woman in the Photo. Previous novels include the young adult titles, The Serious Kiss, Perfect Girl and Pretty Face (HarperCollins). Mary lives in New York City with her husband, actor Robert Hogan, and their Catahoula Leopard rescue dog, Lucy. maryhogan.com

Praise For…


“A touching novel. The book poignantly portrays Fay’s struggle to come to terms with…uncomfortable yet necessary questions about the conditions of love.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Hogan (The Woman in the Photo, 2016) does a good job of mixing humor and heartbreak in this sharply observed novel, drawn from her own experience.”
— Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062678379
ISBN-10: 006267837X
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 19th, 2018
Pages: 256
Language: English