Estranged (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Estranged Cover Image
List Price: $12.99
Our Price: $10.39
(Save: $2.60 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Aug 15 4:32am
(Comics & Graphic Novels)

Staff Reviews


One of the most exciting graphic novel debuts this year! Great characters, terrific world building, a captivating story and gorgeous artwork. Perfect for fans of Amulet, Mighty Jack and Neil Gaiman.

— Chris

Description


Rising star author-illustrator Ethan M. Aldridge delivers a fantasy adventure with all the makings of a classic. Illustrated with over two-hundred pages of watercolor paintings, this epic graphic novel is perfect for fans of Amulet.

Edmund and the Childe were swapped at birth. Now Edmund lives in secret as a changeling in the World Above, his fae powers hidden from his unsuspecting parents and his older sister, Alexis. The Childe lives among the fae in the World Below, where being a human makes him a curiosity at the royal palace.

But when the cruel sorceress Hawthorne seizes the throne, the Childe and Edmund must unite on a dangerous quest to save both worlds—even if they’re not sure which world they belong to.

“A splendid tale of faery magic and adventurous siblings, all told in gorgeously rendered watercolor panels: this is exactly my kind of thing.” —Ben Hatke, author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Zita the Spacegirl trilogy

“It’s got dragons. It’s got drama. It’s got depth. And it’s got me impatiently awaiting Ethan M. Aldridge’s next eye-popping adventure.” —Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever and Five, Six, Seven, Nate!

“A compelling story about finding identity in a world where magic dangers lurk just around the corner. I loved Estranged!” —Molly Ostertag, author-illustrator of The Witch Boy

About the Author


Ethan M. Aldridge is a New York Times bestselling illustrator and author. He studied art at Snow College, where he learned how to better draw things both real and imaginary. Ethan lives in New York and Florida with his husband, Matthew, and some kind of small wolf. You can visit him online at www.estrangedstory.tumblr.com.



Ethan M. Aldridge is a New York Times bestselling illustrator and author. He studied art at Snow College, where he learned how to better draw things both real and imaginary. Ethan lives in New York and Florida with his husband, Matthew, and some kind of small wolf. You can visit him online at www.estrangedstory.tumblr.com.

Praise For…


“A splendid tale of faery magic and adventurous siblings, all told in gorgeously rendered watercolor panels: this is exactly my kind of thing.”
— Ben Hatke, author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Zita the Spacegirl trilogy

“It’s got dragons. It’s got drama. It’s got depth. And it’s got me impatiently awaiting Ethan M. Aldridge’s next eye-popping adventure.”
— Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever and Five, Six, Seven, Nate!

“A compelling story about finding identity in a world where magic dangers lurk just around the corner. I loved Estranged!”
— Molly Ostertag, author-illustrator of The Witch Boy

“As richly imagined in the full-color illustrations, the worldbuilding is both accessible and as familiar as those genre stalwarts… this should easily resonate with preteen and teen fans of both Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Worthy of inclusion in any fantasy collection.”
— School Library Journal

“[F]un, daring, and dark...with themes and art that fall into the realm of Neil Gaiman, Michael Ende, and Jim Henson. Coupled with the beautifully toned watercolor art, the interdependence of and tension between the two protagonists makes this book stand out.”
— Publishers Weekly

“The deliciously captivating start to this adventure series will leave readers hungry for more.”
— Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062653864
ISBN-10: 0062653865
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 7th, 2018
Pages: 224
Language: English