Antiracism & Civil Rights Resources

A variety of books to help readers understand the history of racism and how to fight agains it. The titles are roughly in order of youngest readers to oldest.

 

Antiracist Baby Picture Book By Ibram X. Kendi, Ashley Lukashevsky (Illustrator) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593110508
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Kokila - July 14th, 2020

A #1 New York Times Bestseller!


Stamped (For Kids): Racism, Antiracism, and You By Jason Reynolds, Ibram X. Kendi, Sonja Cherry-Paul (Adapted by), Rachelle Baker (Illustrator) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316167581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

This chapter book edition of the groundbreaking #1 bestseller by luminaries Ibram X. Kendi and Jason Reynolds is an essential introduction to the history of racism and antiracism in America

 
RACE. Uh-oh.


This Book Is Anti-Racist: 20 Lessons on How to Wake Up, Take Action, and Do The Work (Empower the Future #1) By Tiffany Jewell, Aurelia Durand (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tiffany Jewell, Aurelia Durand (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780711245211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - January 7th, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Recommended by Oprah's Book Club, ESSENCE, We Need Diverse Books, ellentube, Brit + Co, PureWow, Teen Vogue, Time, New York, USA TODAY, and TODAY.com

Also available: This Book Is Anti-Racist Journal, a guided journal with more than 50 activities to support your anti-racism journey


It's Trevor Noah: Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood (Adapted for Young Readers) By Trevor Noah Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780525582199
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - April 7th, 2020

The host of The Daily Show, Trevor Noah, shares his personal story and the injustices he faced while growing up half black, half white in South Africa under and after apartheid in this New York Times bestselling young readers' adaptation of his adult memoir.
 


Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning By Jason Reynolds, Ibram X. Kendi Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316453691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

This crucial, empowering, #1 New York Times bestselling exploration of racism—and antiracism—in America makes critical ideas accessible for teen readers, adapted from Ibram X. Kendi's National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning.

This is NOT a history book.This is a book about the here and now.


An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People (ReVisioning History for Young People #2) By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by) Cover Image
By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807049396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beacon Press - July 23rd, 2019

2020 American Indian Youth Literature Young Adult Honor Book

2020 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,selected by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and the Children’s Book Council


Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book 

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo


Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians But Were Afraid to Ask: Young Readers Edition By Anton Treuer Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781646140459
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Levine Querido - April 6th, 2021

From the acclaimed Ojibwe author and professor Anton Treuer comes an essential book of questions and answers for Native and non-Native young readers alike.


The Burning (Young Readers Edition): Black Wall Street and the Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921 By Tim Madigan, Hilary Beard Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250787699
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 11th, 2021

One of the worst acts of racist violence in American history took place in 1921, when a White mob numbering in the thousands decimated the thriving Black community of Greenwood in Tulsa, Oklahoma.


They Called Us Enemy By George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott, Harmony Becker (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Top Shelf Productions - July 16th, 2019

New York Times Bestseller!

A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II. Experience the forces that shaped an American icon -- and America itself -- in this gripping tale of courage, country, loyalty, and love.


Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America By Ibram X. Kendi Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781568585987
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bold Type Books - August 15th, 2017

 The National Book Award winning history of how racist ideas were created, spread, and deeply rooted in American society.

Some Americans insist that we're living in a post-racial society. But racist thought is not just alive and well in America -- it is more sophisticated and more insidious than ever. And as award-winning historian Ibram X.


How to Be an Antiracist By Ibram X. Kendi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525509288
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - August 13th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the National Book Award–winning author of Stamped from the Beginning comes a “groundbreaking” (Time) approach to understanding and uprooting racism and inequality in our society—and in ourselves.


Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning By Cathy Park Hong Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984820389
Availability: Available from Warehouse
Published: One World - March 2nd, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD WINNER • ONE OF TIME’S 100 MOST INFLUENTIAL PEOPLE • A ruthlessly honest, emotionally charged, and utterly original exploration of Asian American consciousness