New Middle Grade

Got a middle grade reader who devours books like they're Cool Ranch Doritos? Give them one of these. You'll be their new favorite friend/relative.

 

Staff Pick Logo
The World's Greatest Detective Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780062368270
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 16th, 2017

Caroline Carlson, author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series, returns with The World's Greatest Detective, a story of crime, tricks, and hilarity for those who know that sometimes it takes a pair of junior sleuths to solve a slippery case.


Sci-Fi Junior High Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780316315166
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Jimmy Patterson - February 21st, 2017


Presented by James Patterson's new children's imprint, this gleefully illustrated space adventure is a laugh on every page. That's a lot of laughs


Animal Ark: Celebrating Our Wild World in Poetry and Pictures Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781426327674
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: National Geographic Society - February 14th, 2017

A howling wolf, a stalking tiger, a playful panda, a dancing bird - pairing the stunning photography of National Geographic photographer Joel Sartore with the delicate poetry of Newbery award-winning author Kwame Alexander, this lush picture book celebrates the beauty, diversity, and fragility of the animal world.


Calico Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481459815
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - February 14th, 2017

From the award-winning author of Eliza's Freedom Road comes the powerful tale of a slave girl's triumphant journey to freedom with her family during the Civil War.


The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781484781548
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Marvel Comics - February 7th, 2017

WHO RUNS THE WORLD? SQUIRRELS Fourteen-year-old Doreen Green moved from sunny California to the suburbs of New Jersey. She must start at a new school, make new friends, and continue to hide her tail. Yep, Doreen has the powers of . . . a squirrel After failing at several attempts to find her new BFF, Doreen feels lonely and trapped, liked a caged animal.


Double Down Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419723445
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - November 1st, 2016

The pressure's really piling up on Greg Heffley. His mom thinks video games are turning his brain to mush, so she wants her son to put down the controller and explore his "creative side."

As if that's not scary enough, Halloween's just around the corner and the frights are coming at Greg from every angle.


League of Archers Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481460378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - December 6th, 2016

A girl on the run after being accused of killing Robin Hood learns what it really means to be a hero in this exciting adventure story.
"That's the girl who killed Robin Hood " Those words send Ellie Dray racing for the forest and the chance to clear her name.


All Heart: My Dedication and Determination to Become One of Soccer's Best Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544978690
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - December 6th, 2016

In the summer of 2015, the U.S. women's national soccer team won the World Cup behind an epic performance by Carli Lloyd. Carli, a midfielder, scored three goals in the first sixteen minutes--the greatest goal-scoring effort in the history of World Cup finals.


Life in Motion: An Unlikely Ballerina Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481479790
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - December 6th, 2016

Determination meets dance in this middle grade adaptation of the New York Times bestselling memoir by the first African-American principal dancer in American Ballet Theatre history, Misty Copeland.


Trouble Next Door Cover Image
By Karen English, Laura Freeman (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780544801271
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - December 6th, 2016

In the fourth book in the Carver Chronicles series, third grader Calvin is dealing with his next door neighbors moving away and the school bully moving in. Meanwhile, competition at the school science fair is heating up, and Calvin must decide what to do when his data doesn't prove his theory.


Five Days of Famous Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780553537963
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - December 13th, 2016

Is being famous the key to living the life of your (tween) dreams? Find out in this modern-day fairy tale from #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noel

Seventh-grade girls like guys who are cool. And Nick Dashaway . . . is not cool.


Word of Mouse Cover Image
By James Patterson, Joe Sutphin (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780316349567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Jimmy Patterson - December 12th, 2016

James Patterson's newest illustrated middle grade story follows the illuminating journey of a very special mouse, and the unexpected friendships that he makes along the way.


Jed and the Junkyard War Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781484729236
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - December 6th, 2016

Jed is a regular kid with a normal, loving family . . . that is, if it's normal for a loving family to drop their child off in the middle of nowhere and expect him home in time for Sunday dinner. Luckily, Jed excels at being a regular kid who-armed with wit and determination-can make his way out of any situation.


Smashie McPerter and the Mystery of the Missing Goop Cover Image
By N. Griffin, Kate Hindley (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780763685355
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - December 13th, 2016

Who stole the featured item for the talent show? Secret codes and crazy schemes are in play as Smashie and best friend Dontel put their thinking powers to work.


Into the Lion's Den Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399186431
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - November 15th, 2016

Watch out, Nancy Drew--Devlin Quick is smart, strong, and she will DEFINITELY close the case in this thrilling new mystery series for girls and boys from New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein


Nothing But Trouble Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062369888
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - November 2016

From the acclaimed author of The Lemonade War comes a new book starring two smart girls determined to liven up their town--one epic prank at a time.


Hidden Figures Young Readers' Edition Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062662378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - November 29th, 2016

The uplifting, amazing true story--a New York Times bestseller


Double Down Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419723445
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - November 1st, 2016

The pressure's really piling up on Greg Heffley. His mom thinks video games are turning his brain to mush, so she wants her son to put down the controller and explore his "creative side."

As if that's not scary enough, Halloween's just around the corner and the frights are coming at Greg from every angle.


The Battle of Hackham Heath Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399163623
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - November 29th, 2016

John Flanagan, author of the bestselling Ranger's Apprentice fantasy adventure epic, delivers a second prequel to Ruins of Gorlan, the novel that started it all, with Halt and Crowley preparing for war against a near-unstoppable enemy


Frozen Charlotte Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780545941082
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - November 29th, 2016

When her best friend dies under mysterious circumstances, Sophie sets off to stay with her cousins on the remote Isle of Skye. It's been years since she last saw them--brooding Cameron with his scarred hand; Piper, who seems too perfect to be real; and peculiar little Lilias with her fear of bones.


The Copernicus Legacy: The Crown of Fire Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062194527
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - November 15th, 2016

This concluding book in bestselling author Tony Abbott's critically acclaimed middle grade adventure series is a mile-a-minute thrill ride. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson.


The Stone of Valhalla Cover Image
$25.64
ISBN: 9781939993717
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lost Treasure Publishing - November 11th, 2016

The Lost Property Office Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481467094
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 8th, 2016

James R. Hannibal presents a thrilling adventure through history, complete with mysteries, secret items, codes, and a touch of magic in this stunning middle grade debut.


When the Sea Turned to Silver Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316125925
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2016

A New York Times Bestseller A National Book Award FinalistAn IndieBound Bestseller

This breathtaking, full-color illustrated fantasy is inspired by Chinese folklore, and is a companion to the Newbery Honor winner Where the Mountain Meets the Moon


Cinnamon Moon Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374302825
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - October 18th, 2016

On the same day as the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, 250 miles away in Peshtigo, Wisconsin, there was an even more devastating fire. Twelve-year-old Ailis and her younger brother, Quinn, survive, but their family does not. Ailis and Quinn are taken by a family acquaintance to live in a boarding house in Chicago, where they meet six-year-old Nettie, an orphan displaced by Chicago's fire.


Staff Pick Logo
The Hammer of Thor Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781423160922
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 4th, 2016

Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon--the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin.


Why Is Art Full of Naked People?: And Other Vital Questions about Art Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780500650806
Availability: Special Order
Published: Thames & Hudson - October 18th, 2016

Why is Art Full of Naked People? is an irreverent and informative primer that asks tricky questions about what makes art art. What is with all the fruit? Why is art so weird nowadays?


Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781594749254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - October 4th, 2016

A fun and feminist look at forgotten women in science, technology, and beyond, from the bestselling author of THE FANGIRL'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY

You may think you know women's history pretty well. But have you ever heard of. . .