Kathy's Favorites - Fiction

Rabbit Cake is a beautiful, very smart, heartbreaking but also funny debut novel about a 12 year old girl grieving the loss of her mother, after her death while sleepwalking (actually, sleepswimming). Left behind are Elvis, the protagonist, her older sister Lizzie (who has inherited her mom's dangerous sleepwalking tendency), and their dad. Elvis's narration achieves a remarkable, believable balance of youth and insight, humor and grief, as she tries to make sense of something that doesn't make sense at all. 

Staff Pick Logo
Rabbit Cake Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941040560
Availability: Available Now
Published: Tin House Books - March 7th, 2017

Elvis Babbitt has a head for the facts: she knows science proves yellow is the happiest color, she knows a healthy male giraffe weighs about 3,000 pounds, and she knows that the naked mole rat is the longest living rodent. She knows she should plan to grieve her mother, who has recently drowned while sleepwalking, for exactly eighteen months.


Staff Pick Logo
Anything Is Possible Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812989403
Availability: Available Now
Published: Random House - April 25th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - An unforgettable cast of small-town characters copes with love and loss in this new work of fiction by #1 bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout.


The Widow of Wall Street Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501131349
Availability: Available Now
Published: Atria Books - April 11th, 2017

A provocative new novel by bestselling author Randy Susan Meyers about the seemingly blind love of a wife for her husband as he conquers Wall Street, and her extraordinary, perhaps foolish, loyalty during his precipitous fall.


Ill Will Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780345476043
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - March 7th, 2017

NATIONAL BESTSELLER - Two sensational unsolved crimes--one in the past, another in the present--are linked by one man's memory and self-deception in this chilling novel of literary suspense from National Book Award finalist Dan Chaon.


Staff Pick Logo
Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781455563937
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - February 7th, 2017

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW TOP TEN OF THE YEAR * NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017 *A USA TODAY TOP TEN OF 2017
Roxane Gay's Favorite Book of 2017, Washington Post
USA Today bestseller
National Bestseller


Staff Pick Logo
Homegoing Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101947135
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - June 7th, 2016

Winner of the NBCC's John Leonard First Book Prize
A New York Times 2016 Notable Book
One of Oprah's 10 Favorite Books of 2016
NPR's Debut Novel of the Year
One of Buzzfeed's Best Fiction Books Of 2016
One of Time's Top 10 Novels of 2016

"Homegoing is an inspiration." --Ta-Nehisi Coates


Staff Pick Logo
The Door Cover Image
By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translator), Ali Smith (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590177716
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New York Review of Books - January 27th, 2015

One of The New York Times Book Review's "10 Best Books of 2015"
An NYRB Classics Original


The Trespasser Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780670026333
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - October 4th, 2016

New York Times bestselling author Tana French is "required reading for anyone who appreciates tough, unflinching intelligence and ingenious plotting" (The New York Times). She "inspires cultic devotion in readers" (The New Yorker) and is "the most important crime novelist to emerge in the past 10 years" (Washington Post).


The Story of the Lost Child Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609452865
Availability: Available Now
Published: Europa Editions - September 1st, 2015

Soon to be an HBO series, book four in the New York Times bestselling Neapolitan quartet about two friends in post-war Italy is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted epic by one of today's most beloved and acclaimed writers, Elena Ferrante, "one of the great novelists of our time." (Roxana Robinson, The New York Times)


Heat and Light Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780061763298
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco Press - May 3rd, 2016

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, NPR


The Sympathizer: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802124944
Availability: Available Now
Published: Grove Press - April 12th, 2016

The winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, as well as six other awards, The Sympathizer is the breakthrough novel of the year. With the pace and suspense of a thriller and prose that has been compared to Graham Greene and Saul Bellow, The Sympathizer is a sweeping epic of love and betrayal.


Here Comes the Sun Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781631491764
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - July 5th, 2016

Winner of the Lambda Literary Award, and Finalist for the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize and the NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award.


A Manual for Cleaning Women: Selected Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250094735
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - August 2nd, 2016

A Manual for Cleaning Women compiles the best work of the legendary short-story writer Lucia Berlin.


Staff Pick Logo
The Tumbling Turner Sisters Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781501134470
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - June 14th, 2016

For fans of Orphan Train and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.


Stones in the Road Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780451469991
Availability: Available Now
Published: Berkley Books - October 6th, 2015

A young Amish boy ventures from Pennsylvania to California in this richly imagined historical novel from the author of An Unseemly Wife.


Honeydew: Stories Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316297233
Availability: Available Now
Published: Back Bay Books - September 22nd, 2015

NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR: "New York Times, Washington Post"TOP TEN BOOKS OF THE YEAR: " Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor
"BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: "Wall Street Journal, " NPR, "Kirkus, " "Fresh Air" (Maureen Corrigan), " San Francisco Chronicle"
TOP TITLES FOR GIFT GIVING: "Chicago Tribune"
Longlisted for the 2015 National Book Award -- and a nationwide bestseller.


The Queen of the Night Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780544925472
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - November 1st, 2016

National Bestseller
New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice - An Indie Next Pick

A Best Book of the Year from NPR, Boston Globe, Buzzfeed, Esquire, San Francisco Chronicle, Time Out, Self, Jezebel, The Portland Mercury, Electric Literature, and Entropy Magazine


Swing Time Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594203985
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - November 15th, 2016

A New York Times bestseller * Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction * Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize

An ambitious, exuberant new novel moving from North West London to West Africa, from the multi-award-winning author of White Teeth and On Beauty.


Disappearance at Devil's Rock Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062363268
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - June 21st, 2016

A family is shaken to its core after the mysterious disappearance of a teenage boy in this eerie tale, a blend of literary fiction, psychological suspense, and supernatural horror from the author of A Head Full of Ghosts.


Infomocracy: Book One of the Centenal Cycle Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780765385154
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor.com - June 7th, 2016

Read Infomocracy, the first book in Campbell Award finalist Malka Older's groundbreaking cyberpunk political thriller series The Centenal Cycle and the novel NPR called "Kinetic and gripping."