Chris's Favorites - Kids/YA

Staff Pick Logo
Crooked Kingdom: A Sequel to Six of Crows Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781627792134
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - September 27th, 2016

Crooked Kingdom the highly anticipated sequel to Leigh Bardugo's thrilling #1 New York Times-bestselling Six of Crows.


Staff Pick Logo
Outrun the Moon Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399175411
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - May 24th, 2016

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.


The Girl from Everywhere Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062380753
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 16th, 2016

The Girl from Everywhere, the first of two books, blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility. Its sparkling wit, breathless adventure, multicultural cast, and enchanting romance will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir and Leigh Bardugo.


The Skeleton Tree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385733786
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 5th, 2016

A modern-day adventure and classic in the making, in the vein of The Call of the Wild, Hatchet, and The Cay, by award-winning author Iain Lawrence.
A Junior Library Guild Selection


Between Shades of Gray Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399254123
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - March 22nd, 2011

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post


The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803740709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - June 9th, 2015

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith and the power of having faith in yourself.
Now a Morris Award finalist and Golden Kite Honor Book
The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.


The Bitter Side of Sweet Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399173073
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - February 23rd, 2016

For fans of Linda Sue Park and A Long Way Gone, two young boys must escape a life of slavery in modern-day Ivory Coast


A Thousand Nights Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781484722275
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 6th, 2015

"A story threaded with shimmering vibrance and beauty, "A Thousand Nights" will weave its spell over readers' hearts and leave them captivated long after the final tale has been told." -Alexandra Bracken, New York Times best-selling author of The Darkest Minds series Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife.


Ghosts Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545540629
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahia de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahia de la Luna.


Wolf Hollow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101994825
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2016

A 2017 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

A young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying.


A Fierce and Subtle Poison Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205218
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - April 12th, 2016

In this stunning debut, legends collide with reality when a boy is swept into the magical, dangerous world of a girl filled with poison.


The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780451476333
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 15th, 2016

An eerie gothic fairytale with a World War II setting and magic at its heart-- and the recipient of four starred reviews and multiple honors.


A Study in Charlotte Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062398901
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 2016

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.


Rebel of the Sands Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780451477538
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 8th, 2016

The New York Times bestselling novel by the Goodreads Choice Awards Best Debut Author of 2016, published in 15 countries


Gunnerkrigg Court, Volume 3: Reason Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781608868285
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Boom Town - February 23rd, 2016

Archaia's beloved Gunnerkrigg Court is back with a third paperback

Antimony Carver, a precocious and preternaturally self-possessed young girl, and her best friend Kat begin their second year at gloomy Gunnerkrigg Court, a very British boarding school that has robots running around along side body-snatching demons, forest gods, and the odd mythical creature.


Heap House Cover Image
$17.84
ISBN: 9781468309539
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Overlook Press - October 15th, 2014

Yes, a storm is brewing over Heap House and the house's many objects are showing strange signs of life. Clod is on the cusp of being "trousered" and married off (unhappily) to his cousin Pinalippy when he meets the plucky orphan servant Lucy Pennant, with whose help he begins to uncover the dark secrets of his family's empire.


The Silver Six Cover Image
By A. J. Lieberman, Darren Rawlings (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780545370981
Availability: Special Order
Published: Graphix - June 25th, 2013

When a group of orphans discover they have a common connection, plucky heroine Phoebe leads them in a daring escape from their orphanage to an uninhabited moon. But their idyllic paradise is shattered when the powerful corporate boss who caused the deaths of their parents sends a relentless henchman to track them down. Illustrations.


Salt to the Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399160301
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - February 2nd, 2016

New York Times Bestseller "Masterfully crafted"--The Wall Street Journal


Gunnerkrigg Court, Volume 1 Orientation Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781608867035
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Archaia - April 28th, 2015

Archaia's beloved Gunnerkrigg Court makes its paperback debut


Ready Player One Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307887443
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Broadway Books - June 5th, 2012

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS.


Half in Love with Death Cover Image
$18.89
ISBN: 9781440589034
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon Pulse - December 16th, 2015

It's the era of peace and love in the 1960s, but nothing is peaceful in Caroline's life. Since her beautiful older sister disappeared, fifteen-year-old Caroline might as well have disappeared too. She's invisible to her parents, who can't stop blaming each other. The police keep following up on leads even Caroline knows are foolish.


A Step Toward Falling Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062271136
Availability: Special Order
Published: Harper Teen - October 6th, 2015

Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes and learning to forgive. The New York Times Book Review raved "This is a beautiful, big-hearted book with important lessons embedded in compelling stories of two irresistible girls.


The Doldrums Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062320940
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 29th, 2015

"A dreamy charmer of a book, full of clever wordplay that practically demands it be read out loud."--New York Times