Chris's Favorites - Fiction

1984 (Signet Classics) Cover Image
By George Orwell, Erich Fromm (Afterword by)
ISBN: 9780451524935
Availability: Available Now
Published: Signet Book -


Staff Pick Logo
The Tumbling Turner Sisters: A Book Club Recommendation! Cover Image
ISBN: 9781501145346
Availability: Available Now
Published: Gallery Books - January 3rd, 2017

For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.

Being There (Kosinski) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780802136343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - September 15th, 1999

A modern classic now available from Grove Press, Being There is one of the most popular and significant works from a writer of international stature. It is the story of Chauncey Gardiner -- Chance, an enigmatic but distinguished man who emerges from nowhere to become an heir to the throne of a Wall Street tycoon, a presidential policy adviser, and a media icon.

Staff Pick Logo
The Underground Railroad Cover Image
ISBN: 9780385542364
Availability: Available Now
Published: Doubleday Books - August 2nd, 2016

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, the #1 New York Times bestseller from Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South

Swing Time Cover Image
ISBN: 9781594203985
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - November 15th, 2016

A New York Times bestseller * Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction * Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize

An ambitious, exuberant new novel moving from North West London to West Africa, from the multi-award-winning author of White Teeth and On Beauty.

The Kid Cover Image
ISBN: 9781501129759
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - October 4th, 2016

"A marvelous journey into both history and imagination...A perfectly compelling and fast-paced story" (San Francisco Chronicle) from Ron Hansen about an iconic American criminal of the old West: legendary outlaw, Billy the Kid.

All the Light We Cannot See Cover Image
ISBN: 9781476746586
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 6th, 2014

From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry Cover Image
ISBN: 9781616204518
Availability: Available Now
Published: Algonquin Books - December 2nd, 2014

"Funny, tender, and moving, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry reminds us all exactly why we read and why we love."* A. J. Fikry's life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen.