Chris's Favorites - Fiction

1984 Cover Image
By George Orwell, Erich Fromm (Afterword by)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451524935
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Signet Book -

Written in 1948, 1984 was George Orwell's chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, his dystopian vision of a government that will do anything to control the narrative is timelier than ever...

"The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command."


Staff Pick Logo
The Tumbling Turner Sisters Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501145346
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - January 3rd, 2017

For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.


Being There Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780802136343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - September 15th, 1999

A modern classic now available from Grove Press, Being There is one of the most popular and significant works from a writer of international stature. It is the story of Chauncey Gardiner -- Chance, an enigmatic but distinguished man who emerges from nowhere to become an heir to the throne of a Wall Street tycoon, a presidential policy adviser, and a media icon.


Staff Pick Logo
The Underground Railroad (Pulitzer Prize Winner) (National Book Award Winner) (Oprah's Book Club) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385542364
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday Books - August 2nd, 2016

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, the #1 New York Times bestseller from Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South


Swing Time Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594203985
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - November 15th, 2016

A New York Times bestseller
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction
An ambitious, exuberant new novel moving from North West London to West Africa, from the multi-award-winning author of White Teeth and On Beauty


The Kid Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501129759
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - October 4th, 2016

A new novel from Ron Hansen, the award-winning author of The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, about an iconic American criminal of the old West: legendary outlaw, Billy the Kid.


All the Light We Cannot See Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476746586
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 6th, 2014

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781616204518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - December 2nd, 2014

"Funny, tender, and moving, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry reminds us all exactly why we read and why we love."*