Chris's Favorites - Fiction

1984 Cover Image
By George Orwell, Erich Fromm (Afterword by)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451524935
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Signet Book -

Written in 1948, 1984 was George Orwell's chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, his dystopian vision of a government that will do anything to control the narrative is timelier than ever...

-The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command.-


Staff Pick Logo
The Tumbling Turner Sisters Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501145346
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - January 3rd, 2017

For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure--and a last-ditch effort to save their family.


Being There Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780802136343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - September 15th, 1999

A modern classic now available from Grove Press, Being There is one of the most popular and significant works from a writer of international stature. It is the story of Chauncey Gardiner -- Chance, an enigmatic but distinguished man who emerges from nowhere to become an heir to the throne of a Wall Street tycoon, a presidential policy adviser, and a media icon.


Staff Pick Logo
The Underground Railroad (National Book Award Winner) (Oprah's Book Club) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385542364
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday Books - August 2nd, 2016

The National Book Award Winner and #1 New York Times bestseller from Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South


Swing Time Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594203985
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - November 15th, 2016

A New York Times bestseller
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction
An ambitious, exuberant new novel moving from North West London to West Africa, from the multi-award-winning author of White Teeth and On Beauty


The Kid Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501129759
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - October 4th, 2016

A new novel from Ron Hansen, the award-winning author of The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, about an iconic American criminal of the old West: legendary outlaw, Billy the Kid.


All the Light We Cannot See Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476746586
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 6th, 2014

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781616204518
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - December 2nd, 2014

"Funny, tender, and moving, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry reminds us all exactly why we read and why we love."*