It All Comes Down to This (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
It All Comes Down to This Cover Image
$16.99
Available Now
4 on hand, as of Oct 21 1:15pm
(Juvenile)

Staff Reviews


English's novel is the perfect summer read for those in middle school and upper elementary grades. Though it is woven with serious issues such as racism, infidelity, and police brutality, the tone of its 12-year-old narrator keeps it accessible and easy to read. This book is hard to put down, and is sure to leave the reader feeling fulfilled. A great pick for those looking to learn more about racism and colorism.

— Rebecca

Description


It's 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she's the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents' marriage is rocky. There's also her family's new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. When riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, Sophie learns that life--and her own place in it--is even more complicated than she'd once thought.
Leavened with gentle humor, this story is perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780544839571
ISBN-10: 0544839579
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: July 11th, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English