The World's Greatest Detective (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The World's Greatest Detective Cover Image
$16.99
Available Now
3 on hand, as of Sep 22 2:31am
(Juvenile)

Staff Reviews


12-year old Toby Montrose wants his uncle to enter a contest to decide who is the World's Greatest Detective, but his uncle refuses. Frustrated, Toby decides to take his place--only to find himself at the center of a real murder investigation. A wryly comic mystery in the tradition of Agatha Christie or Ellen Raskin's The Westing Game, The World's Greatest Detective is one of the best and funniest middle-grade novels I've read all year.

— Chris

Description


Caroline Carlson, author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series, returns with The World's Greatest Detective, a story of crime, tricks, and hilarity for those who know that sometimes it takes a pair of junior sleuths to solve a slippery case.

Detectives' Row is full of talented investigators, but Toby Montrose isn't one of them. He's only an assistant at his uncle's detective agency, and he's not sure he's even very good at that. Toby's friend Ivy is the best sleuth around--or at least she thinks so. They both see their chance to prove themselves when the famed Hugh Abernathy announces a contest to choose the World's Greatest Detective. But when what was supposed to be a game turns into a real-life murder mystery, can Toby and Ivy crack the case?

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062368270
ISBN-10: 0062368273
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 16th, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English