Insignia (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Insignia Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $14.39
(Save: $3.60 20%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Next to Ender's Game and Ready Player One, this is the book I most often recommend to kids looking for a good hacker/scifi story. There are all the elements YA scifi fans are looking for: smart, talented kid gets sent to a school for hackers, he makes some good friends, gets on bad side of the bullies, discovers a plot against the government, etc. But the story really picks up when the main character discovers he can travel (mentally) through any network and meets someone on the enemy's side who has the same ability. Only trouble is, she's twice as good at it as he is. Book 1 in a fun, exciting trilogy.

— Chris

Description


"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."--Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . .

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR INSIGNIA“Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won’t be able to put this book down.”
-Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DIVERGENT and INSURGENT

“Hip, high-tech, and hilarious, INSIGNIA made my heart soar and left me with impossible-to-shake questions about technology, reality, and war.”—Rae Carson, author of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS
-Rae Carson

“An unlikely teen is selected to attend Hogwarts-at-the-Pentagon. With action, real humor and a likable, complex protagonist, this fast-moving, satisfying adventure also provides some food for thought.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Kincaid’s debut novel, an ambitious, high-concept mélange of the teen hacker and teen spy genres provides a fast-paced and exciting tale.”
-Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062092991
ISBN-10: 0062092995
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: July 10th, 2012
Pages: 446
Language: English