2017 ALSC Awards

20% Off Select

ALSC Award Winners

Staff Pick Logo
Cry, Heart, But Never Break Cover Image
By Glenn Ringtved, Charlotte Pardi (Illustrator), Robert Moulthrop (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781592701872
Availability: Available Now
Published: Enchanted Lion Books - February 16th, 2016

Aware their grandmother is gravely ill, four siblings make a pact to keep death from taking her away. But Death does arrive all the same, as it must. He comes gently, naturally. And he comes with enough time to share a story with the children that helps them to realize the value of loss to life and the importance of being able to say goodbye.


Staff Pick Logo
Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316213882
Availability: Available Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 25th, 2016

Winner of the Randolph Caldecott Medal and the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award


Staff Pick Logo
The Girl Who Drank the Moon Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: Available Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal
The New York Times Bestseller

An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016


Staff Pick Logo
We Are Growing! Cover Image
By Mo Willems, Laurie Keller, Mo Willems (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781484726358
Availability: Available Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 20th, 2016

Walt and his friends are growing up fast Everyone is the something-est. But . . . what about Walt? He is not the tallest, or the curliest, or the silliest. He is not the anything-est As a BIG surprise inches closer, Walt discovers something special of his own.


Staff Pick Logo
Juana and Lucas Cover Image
By Juana Medina, Juana Medina (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780763672089
Availability: Available Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 27th, 2016

Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpre Author Award

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.


Staff Pick Logo
If I Was Your Girl Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250078407
Availability: Available Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 3rd, 2016

A big-hearted, groundbreaking novel about being seen for who you really are, and a love story you can't help but root for

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like anyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret, and she's determined not to get too close to anyone.


Staff Pick Logo
The Hammer of Thor Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781423160922
Availability: Available Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 4th, 2016

Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon--the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin.


Staff Pick Logo
Lowriders to the Center of the Earth Cover Image
By Cathy Camper, Raul the Third (Illustrator)
$22.99
ISBN: 9781452123431
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - July 5th, 2016

2017 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner


Staff Pick Logo
March: Book Three Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094023
Availability: Available Now
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 2nd, 2016

Welcome to the stunning conclusion of the award-winning and best-selling MARCH trilogy. Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, joins co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell to bring the lessons of history to vivid life for a new generation, urgently relevant for today's world.


Staff Pick Logo
The Sun Is Also a Star Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780553496680
Availability: Available Now
Published: Delacorte Press - November 1st, 2016

The dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything (in theaters now ), will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other


Staff Pick Logo
Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille Cover Image
By Jen Bryant, Boris Kulikov (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780449813379
Availability: Available Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 6th, 2016

An inspiring picture-book biography of Louis Braille--a blind boy so determined to read that he invented his own alphabet.

**Winner of a Schneider Family Book Award **

Louis Braille was just five years old when he lost his sight. He was a clever boy, determined to live like everyone else, and what he wanted more than anything was to be able to read.


Staff Pick Logo
As Brave as You Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481415903
Availability: Available Now
Published: Atheneum Books - May 3rd, 2016

Kirkus Award Finalist
Schneider Family Book Award Winner
Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book

When two brothers decide to prove how brave they are, everything backfires--literally--in this piercing middle grade novel by the winner of the Coretta Scott King - Johnson Steptoe Award.


Staff Pick Logo
When We Collided Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781619638457
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - April 5th, 2016

Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind.


Staff Pick Logo
The Serpent King Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553524024
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - March 8th, 2016

Named to ten BEST OF THE YEAR lists and selected as a William C. Morris Award Winner, The Serpent King is the critically acclaimed, much-beloved story of three teens who find themselves--and each other--while on the cusp of graduating from high school with hopes of leaving their small-town behind.